Skip to content

Blueberry Rhubarb Pi

June 22, 2012

Yes, darlings. Pi. Π. As in math. Or maths, if you’re of the British persuasion. Maybe even Australian. I don’t know what y’all call the numbers game down there. What I do know is that blue-violet rayon + raspberry-rhubarb Petersham + 1/2 circle skirt makes for lovely sewing. And spinning. Lots and lots of spinning. Although I’ve been limping on a hurt foot since Tuesday, unable to go to boot camp or run, I HAD to whirl. In a few days I’ll even give her a jump.

I am so very glad I didn’t rush into this skirt the night before holiday. I was tempted to cut into the challis, ditching my plans for a circle skirt (no time to let it hang pre-hemming) and make a dirndl in its place. Reason got the better of me, and upon return, I set to work mocking up a 1/2 circle skirt template. Previously, I’d made a 3/4 template, yet discovered there wasn’t enough of this fabric in my stash. Which worked out lovely, if I do say so. Up until now, I’ve shied away from circle skirts, thinking they’d be rather unflattering on me. The last time I wore one was in roughly 5th grade, when I begged my mom to make me a poodle skirt and buy me saddle shoes.

Now, I’m totally sold. For me, the key is the 1/2 circle. It’s just enough fabric for flippy fun, and not too much to weigh me down. My initial plan for this fabric, if you recall, was a “short, flippy skirt”. I kept it a little modest, but will definitely be making a shorter version. However, I’ll move down to a 1/4 circle skirt then, so that simply walking down the street doesn’t give everyone I pass a piece of the pie.

These are so freaking easy to make, guys. Seriously. The hardest part is the patience required in waiting for the bias to stretch out. And then the patience required for marking an even hem. Luckily, the skirt had hung for several days by last weekend, when my mom visited. I put her to work, yes I did. Hey, it was Father’s Day!

I’m not going to bore you with another circle skirt tutorial. Here’s where I took off from. You’ll notice my lovely exposed zip, from the hoard I stole from that same mom. (I steal from her AND I put her to work. It’s okay, I repay her in foot massages.) That design element is actually a retrofit. See, I didn’t think about needing, you know, seam allowances for the center back. My math was so dead on for the waist, and I need to save room for pie, so I just did what any clever seamster does, and showed my metal (teeth).

Ages ago I’d picked up some Petersham from Sunni, and the red went into my purple Clovers. The rhubarb (plum in the shop) has been ripening for this skirt. Again, why mess with a solid tutorial? If that isn’t straightforward enough, pre-shrink your ribbon, press & stretch along lower edge, stitch to lining (in my case, silk habotai), stitch to skirt, stitch together.

If I told you I’m off to bake a pie, my nose would grow three feet. It’s too hot for that business. I love the weather, but our apartment has one window unit, in the opposite corner from the kitchen. Bake in 100°? I think I’ll pour myself a tall one. With a rhubarb swizzle. And a blueberry garnish. With one twirl for good measure.

Have a lovely weekend, and I’ll be catching up with you :) It’s the second day of summer, and I’m pretty psyched that I’ve stuck with my sewing plan pretty well so far. I’m working on the Jean-ius class now, have a swimsuit to make, the HP top and the Siren sundress (spell check really wants that to read “undress”!). I’d also like to use the pattern I draft from Jean-ius to redo my Clovers. And the red bra kit I’ve had for months. BUT…. I’ve ticked off two Renfrews, a Taffy, a motorcycle jacket, and two Simplicity dresses (one was a change of pattern from my original plan, due to the blog hop).

xxx

25 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2012 9:22 pm

    I am in love with this skirt! The color is incredible – so vibrant. You look amazing in this shape and need to make others. And the pictures of you spinning in the field – gah – there’s too much good in one post to complete sentences.

    • June 25, 2012 1:37 pm

      Thanks :) I think my foray with gathers is over. Well, at least for a while! Definitely feel more comfortable in clean lines! That park is one good thing about our apartment :)

  2. June 22, 2012 9:39 pm

    This is awesome, and funny! Love those colours on you. So a half circle skirt is two half circles sewn together? Or two quarter circles sewn together? I’ve made one circle skirt (from a pattern) Burdastyle’s Linda-and it’s just way too much fabric to handle. I did the hem in bias but if I did it again I’d just use my narrow hem foot.

    • June 25, 2012 1:43 pm

      The half circle is still one piece of fabric, but half as much, as you only fold the fabric once prior to cutting. I was curious about the Linda being a full circle skirt or not. I think I have it all taped up, but set it aside for that very reason – it just seemed like too. much. fabric. A bias-bound hem sounds fun! But like a lot of stitching. I just did two narrow turns (no special foot), gathering a little as needed :)

  3. June 22, 2012 9:44 pm

    SUPER cute! You look lovely! I was just thinking about you today and wondering what you’re up to! You’re back with a bang!

    • June 25, 2012 1:44 pm

      Thanks, Ginger! Yeah, I kind of went awol for a bit there. Totally shut down on the blog reading & writing while my head worked through other things!

  4. June 23, 2012 1:51 am

    Ah gorgeous, the pink waist band and zipper, perfect. It’s ‘maths’ in Australia too :)

    • June 25, 2012 1:45 pm

      Thought it might be :) Was trying to remember what my Aussie roomies used to say, but that was too many years ago. And I don’t think we talked about math(s) all that much!

  5. June 23, 2012 7:34 am

    I love it- the exposed zipper, the shape- all too perfect.

    • June 25, 2012 1:46 pm

      Thank you, darling :) Now, the hem on the lining isn’t perfect. But I shouldn’t have mentioned that.

  6. June 23, 2012 5:45 pm

    You had me at rhubarb! It’s a beauty Lavender!!!

    • June 25, 2012 1:47 pm

      I LOVE it! Raw, even. My in-laws have a patch, and they can never use it all, so it comes home with us :)

      • June 27, 2012 7:10 pm

        Lucky…. (Imagine me saying this in my best Napoleon Dynamite voice)

  7. June 24, 2012 7:53 pm

    We Aussies totally call it “Maths” like the Brits :)

    Great skirt!! I loooove a skirt that flips as you spin!

    • June 25, 2012 1:49 pm

      That shot was a total surprise! There are lots of frames to delete, too… a little too much flip. Hehe!

  8. June 25, 2012 5:21 am

    What a great skirt! The colors really are to die for!

    • June 25, 2012 1:50 pm

      Thanks, Maddie! I hope the colors stay nice and saturated, too. The rayon is from the big, evil J, but it didn’t fade during pre-wash :)

  9. June 27, 2012 10:08 am

    such a fun little skirt! i’m slowly growing to love circle skirts too – so twirly!

  10. July 1, 2012 1:50 am

    It’s a great skirt! Half circles work a lot better for me than full circles, too. And silk habotai lining! Is it very wonderful? :) Love the colour combination, too.

    • July 5, 2012 10:02 am

      I love it! It’s my favorite lining, though I’ve never tried Bemberg rayon. The silk feels nice & barely there :) Half circles are such a great compromise!

  11. July 2, 2012 1:50 pm

    What a pretty color! I really love rayon challis–it’s so easy to wear esp. in summer. Rhubarb pie sounds dreamy right now. I’m with you on the too hot to bake. I keep having ideas for fruit pies right now but the thought of sweating out my kitchen is too much!

    • July 5, 2012 10:05 am

      I’m really starting to get on the rayon bandwagon. As you said, it’s so nice to wear, and the drape! But I have this guilt thing with it, knowing a wee bit about the manufacturing process.

  12. July 3, 2012 10:33 pm

    I was really confused about the difference between a circle skirt, 1/2, 1/4, etc. but I think I have a decent grasp on the concept now. Thanks for the info! I may have to try this myself because your skirt looks so cute!

    • July 5, 2012 10:06 am

      I was confused at first, too! It made so much more sense once I saw a diagram :) Give ’em a go – totally fun and gratifying!

Leave a comment