Skip to content

I have a Cloth Habit

June 8, 2012

Don’t we all? Who isn’t in love with Amy’s style, sewing and writing? We were in our adopted hometown last week, so I felt it absolutely necessary to stalk email the lovely keeper of the the cloth habit herself, in the hopes that she’d grace me with conversation and a coffee. And she did just that! Amy, you are so terrific! I could have chatted with you for hours. Alas, Ry had to buzz off to the airport, but he snapped a couple quick photos for us. (Don’t let the desaturated images fool ya, this gal’s got the prettiest green eyes.) I love actually getting to hear what a person sounds like, have a real conversation. Of course, there is the nail-biting question of what to wear to a sewing blogger meet up! Of course, I wore my indiscreet knit dress from last summer, complete with twin needle hems that aren’t flat, and a V-neck that I hadn’t bothered to check the decency of prior to cutting out. My first choice was this dress, but I’d been wearing it all week. Austin was sick of seeing me in that dress. I’m never sick of it, and in hot weather, it feels like I’m wearing nothing at all.

Oh, I forgot to tell you about my mate’s plan to fan-boy candid camera us. “OMG! You’re Cloth Habit, right?! And threadsquare?! I can’t believe it – I looooove your blogs, I read them aaaall the time.” Aaaah, the silliness :)

It was tough leaving, but the Mushie kisses upon return sure do help a seamster out. The trip was refreshing for many, many reasons, and also a great way to step away from the computer for a bit. I did receive an email that I’d been featured on Pattern Review, but by the time I read the note, the site had changed. I have no idea what the feature read like, but I’m assuming they just took info from my (pretty bare) profile page? Which reminds me… I was contacted by an editor for Be In Style a couple months ago, and they were sweet enough to feature me in their Best of the Web series. Huzzah! I kept forgetting to post a thank you, and I hope this will suffice. Any site that has a post about asymmetrical moto jackets is alright by me ;)

Now that some blog housekeeping is done, sunshine has shown, my friends have been hugged, I’m ready to buckle down and get back to the cutting table.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2012 1:09 pm

    Hooray for meeting other sewing bloggers! I love Amy’s blog as well. So chic. Glad you’re back home and looking forward to what you have coming next.

  2. June 8, 2012 2:29 pm

    Ooh, how fun! Hope you had a great trip! Congrats on the feature!!

  3. June 8, 2012 3:03 pm

    SO JEALOUS!!!!!

    so very jealous.

    i hope you’re sewing something that relieves end-of-trip sadness :)

  4. June 8, 2012 9:15 pm

    Aaaah sewist meetup! Love it! I actually only found (re-found? Some of her older posts look a little familiar-from my pre-Reader days) Cloth Habit yesterday morning and then late last night I saw this post XD I recognised the Burda dress, (it’s one I’ve traced but never made) and went woot that looks nice sewn up! And congratulations on all the features, you deserve it (the motorcycle jacket was how I found you-it automatically deemed you worthy for subscription although your reaction to Belstaff was a bonus XD).

  5. June 9, 2012 11:31 am

    very cute and so fun!

  6. June 11, 2012 9:37 am

    Second the jealous! You two are adorable:)

  7. June 11, 2012 4:31 pm

    Aw that’s so nice! And what a beautiful picture of you two! I’d not been aware of Amy’s blog but am following it now, thanks to your recommendation :)

  8. June 12, 2012 12:54 am

    Aww, shuckles. You’re so sweet. It was really a pleasure to meet you. I’m just getting back to my blog again (oh, again?). It’s so great to talk sewing in person with people, isn’t it? I definitely need to find a sewing buddy around here! And you DO have violet eyes! Gorgeous, girl.

Leave a comment