Skip to content

Little Miss Sunshine

April 11, 2012

Wow, someone must have switched my hippy detergent with the sort containing optical brighteners. How else to explain the gift of the Sunshine Award from Leah? My career as a cheerleader was short-lived, and as an alternate anyway. Next season, I waved goodbye to my jazz-handed friends and hit the backwoods nordic ski trails. But I suppose I’m only part Daria. Keep me fed, exercised and exposed to enough light, and I’ll smile and laugh the hours away.

I’ve blabbed on about myself enough lately. Instead, I’ll share a song with you that gets me when this crazy world gets me down. I know, I know. It’s just a little pop song. But it makes me so happy it hurts.

(sorry… guess if you really want to hear some crowded house, you’ve gotta click through)

I think everyone deserves some sun shining on their face, and I’m always trying to be democratic. Here are some lovely ladies who make me laugh, smile and bust a gut (and whom, to my knowledge, haven’t been nominated): Sunni (duh, it’s the Sunshine Award!), Oona (who never needs optical brighteners), Hillary (let some sun shine in that great northern expanse), Suriah (even Mushka wants to kiss her) and Sheila (who is a fantastic cheerleader and bestest bear hugger ever).

May the weather you take with you be refreshing.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2012 10:38 am

    well thankya lavender! i am indeed at the moment plotting a sunny day!

    that crowded house tune… i once paid $125 for my love of that song. while cruising down the taconic, i sang at the top of my lungs to every chorus, increasing my speed in direct proportion to my increasing volume. when the cop stopped me, i said, i’m sorry officer, i’m just learning how to drive a stick shift.

    that should make you slower he said. ticketed. i couldn’t even produce a tear.

    • April 11, 2012 2:50 pm

      Oh wow. I love this story. Even though the ticket sucks.

    • April 12, 2012 9:41 am

      AWESOME!!! Okay, not the ticket, but everything else. I can picture you trying to reason, cranking up the volume, going all Maude by telling him he’s too officious.

  2. April 11, 2012 6:21 pm

    The ladies you listed are all very worthy of a sunshine title!!! And so are YOU!!! Congrats!

    • April 12, 2012 9:42 am

      Hehe… you shouldget the award, too :) Go grab yourself some sunshine, Tracey!

  3. April 12, 2012 6:59 am

    You always brighten my day!! And my goodness, you are too kind, thank you!

    • April 12, 2012 9:43 am

      I know it’s a silly blog thing, but we’re glad to have you back :D

  4. April 12, 2012 2:29 pm

    Congrats on the award, Miss Sunshine!! Your posts and comments always brighten my day, so it’s indeed well deserved :)

  5. April 12, 2012 4:40 pm

    Haha! Boy, when things are meant to be, there is no denying! I was thinking I really need to post some of the projects we’ve been doing! Thank you for the lovely compliments and the kick in the pants! ;)

    • April 17, 2012 2:55 pm

      Hehe! Funny how that happens, eh?! Seriously, girl, where would I be?

  6. April 13, 2012 9:50 pm

    So so nice of you to say thanks to others. It’s so important to do so. It’s sometimes, okay most of the time, makes you feel so much better :)

  7. April 18, 2012 11:12 am

    Oh, I love that song! I used to play it over and over and over while driving, too, trying to find all the harmonies and singing at the top of my lungs. And I was about to write that and saw Oona’s comment–funny.

Leave a Reply

