Skip to content

Weekend warriors

March 13, 2012

Okay, so we haven’t actually done any long bouts of hiking/cycling/running, but for the past two weekends, we’ve been on the road. First to my parents’, then to Ry’s, an even longer trip. It’s lovely to see family, of course. And it’s lovely to unplug for a while. Slow down a bit, gaze at mountains even if we aren’t able to climb any that particular trip. I admit, though… it’s sometimes a bit difficult for me to not only catch up with everyone’s mad blogging, but also with my own sewing and writing. I enjoy the recharge, and then I find my brain is less interested in staring at a screen, uploading images, etc.

I may also be a bit intimidated with this waxed canvas jacket. And I know I have some exciting projects coming up, and am a little behind. I just need to dig in on those. For now, I’ve been working on a muslin for the jacket. I’m using a standard khaki twill from my stash. Honestly, I felt a bit bad cutting into it, even though I don’t wear chinos, nor do I have any intention of wearing them. It was one of those weird “this is perfectly good fabric for something, someone moments. But I got over it because a) I’m out of muslin, and b) I wanted to work with something of a similar weight/drape. Still, the waxed canvas is heavier. And can’t be pressed. Because it’s waxed. Please, pretty please, dear machine… like this fabric. I implore you. One of the features that drew me to the canvas is that, once it’s creased, the wax starts showing up and fun textural changes take place. Thing is, I’m going to have to get over the fact that these changes are going to take place during the construction process, not merely after. Who knows what the jacket will look like once it’s all stitched and turned?!

Anyway, here are photos from the first fitting. Never mind the short zip. Of all the fabric and findings I stole from my mom, this was the only separating zip. That red is hot, though.

Not so bad from the front, and although I originally wanted to shorten the jacket (when tried on with a skirt), I think I'll keep the length. I'll add a SA bit of length to the sleeve, as I like my sleeves a little bit longer.

A bit full at the bust, but it may just be the way I'm standing. I need the room for movement.

The back princess seam needs taking in, but I can move my arms forward no problemo. Perfect for bike riding/driving. Only change made to pattern at this point was a slash/spread at CB panels at my rounded upper back. LOVE that the instructions have great tips like this included.

Ignore the fact that there is elastic only in the upper section... didn't have enough or the right width. I definitely need to nip in a bit on the princess seams, and take in the elastic band. But too much, and I won't be able to move. The jacket is supposed to blouson a bit here, per the instructions.

See, not as bad with arms forward. Add the second sleeve, and the fit is close.

This, however. This I hate. I need to make the sleeve come up a bit more snug to my armpit. So far it fits like my winter RTW coat, but I won't be wearing bulky sweaters underneath. I can't stand how low the sleeve meets the bodice.

I’m off to make some changes, and try my darnedest to catch up with all of you lovelies…  Thank you for all of the sweet comments on the Dirty Chartreuse dress :) Besos!

20 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2012 9:39 am

    This fit looks great! And I really like this design, very cool. You gots to be able to move your arms, that’s extremely important, I have found, for, you know, living.

    • March 14, 2012 9:10 am

      You mean being a live mannequin doesn’t sound fulfilling? ;)

  2. G.Petunia permalink
    March 13, 2012 11:19 am

    Cool jacket! I wonder what you mean that the wax will start “showing up once it’s creased”. I love waxed outerwear but have never had any. I think it needs to be rewaxed periodically, so why couldn’t you press all you wanted to, using aluminum foil to catch the melting wax then rewax after completion? . Maybe use a press cloth, and a really cheap iron, and protect your ironing board cover, and pray the wax doesn’t catch fire. Maybe there’s a reason waxed outerwear is so expensive. Anyway, could it be waxed after completion? Love the contrasting zipper tape!

    • March 14, 2012 9:14 am

      The canvas I have is already waxed, and it would pretty much ruin it if pressed (and I don’t have a second junk iron). Basically, once you fold it, even drag a nail across it, a lighter colored mark will show up. So think of all the folding, turning, maneuvering that goes into a garment…. the distress marks will be present upon completion, then more will show up with wear. It will have to be re-waxed periodically, depending on how much use it gets.

  3. March 13, 2012 11:28 am

    Beautiful design and I am looking forward to seeing more. Thanks for sharing pics of your weekend trip.

    • March 14, 2012 9:15 am

      Full disclosure… same place, but photos are from Thanksgiving :) There’s actually snow on the ground now, but for some reason I didn’t shoot as much.

  4. March 13, 2012 12:41 pm

    I like this design! Looks like it’s coming together well. I just came back from a long trip myself and know the feeling. What to tackle first? I tried really hard to catch up with blogs, too, but it almost felt like I was running backwards. I love that meadow… so quiet.

    • March 14, 2012 9:18 am

      Thanks! I guess that’s modern life, feeling behind and knowing there’s always something somewhere that’s been missed. It’s a long drive, but I do love the peaceful destination :)

  5. March 13, 2012 2:38 pm

    I really love the red zipper on the neutral fabric… does that make me weird? I want you to make this version the real thing, not the muslin LOL OK? :P

    • March 14, 2012 6:09 am

      I like the red zip too!!

    • March 14, 2012 9:21 am

      I’m kind of digging it, too. Don’t tell, k? Because I don’t do khaki. I was so hoping the red zipper would be long enough for the final version. It’s making me second-guess black. But with 5 zips, wouldn’t the red lose it’s punch? Hmmm….

      • March 14, 2012 9:37 am

        5 zips eh….? kinda conjures up Michael Jackson Thriller vibes in my head…. not a bad thing really, i think you could totally pull it off :)

  6. March 13, 2012 2:46 pm

    Love it so far!

  7. March 14, 2012 8:51 am

    Sometimes you just need the recharge and then pick up with the current stuff – I’m feeling like I might need to turn off the computer pretty soon, too!

    The jacket is such a great design – and your muslin is beautiful! I hate when the whole jacket lifts like that when I raise my arm! But its such a tricky balance between wanting range of motion and leaving enough room so you can wear clothes underneath (at least for me it is!)

    • March 14, 2012 9:26 am

      Great advice… just accept the fact that I might miss something, and nobody’s gonna hate me for it :) My brain needs to reconnect with the natural, physical world regularly, and I don’t do it often enough.

      Maybe I should give the muslin to a friend! I like a little bit of room, too, but a smidge too much, and instead of ease of movement, I feel constricted. And the amount changes depending on the season!

  8. March 14, 2012 3:59 pm

    Very nice! The fit looks pretty good already, and I love the asymmetric zipper and the ruffled back belt thingy! Looks like a great jacket!

  9. March 15, 2012 11:35 am

    Looking good! I like this style a lot! It really looks sharp on you! I’m interested to hear about your experience working with waxed canvas– here’s hoping it gets a long with your sewing machine!

  10. March 16, 2012 11:36 pm

    That’s looking great so far!! I have about a half dozen (or more) jacket patterns and have yet to sew even one. This lights a fire under my ass though.

Trackbacks

  1. Happy Vernal Equinox « threadsquare

Leave a Reply

