Skip to content

Rub off, an evening with Kenneth King

February 28, 2012

Okay, so I may not be his type, but who could resist a title like that? Begging and pleading to be used and abused. Ahem.

Anyway, I mentioned back on the royal trousers post that that very morning KKs Jean-ius class was freshly delivered to my inbox. My husband is such an enabler. He emailed me the link a half hour after my discovery. Isn’t that sweet, him getting Craftsy newsletters? Of course I signed up. Immediately. I like the jeans & Clovers I’ve made, and want to make them fit better. Not that RTW bottoms are perfect on me, but I’ve a few pair that are close.

I just spent a wonderful hour curled up in bed with my iPad, KK and a tall glass of water. Because we finished the wine at dinner.

Stay tuned for a full report on my spring/summer sewing plans. I may have bitten off more than I can chew.

(if this post is odd-looking, I blame the WP/iPad app)

Now excuse me. My enabler has arrived…

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 29, 2012 1:50 am

    Please let us know how the tutorial goes and if its worth the $. That’s actually how I ended up fitting my Clover pants, by measuring a pair of RTW pants that fit me. (Post to come in the future.)

    • February 29, 2012 8:58 am

      So far so good! I’ve decided to first watch the lessons, then follow along, so I don’t actually have my copying started. But it’s much more thorough than my method of turning on leg inside the other, trying to match up crotch curves and transfer everything. That gave me a rough idea of what to alter, but it wasn’t as accurate.

      I got it on sale, and I think it’s still $40. Which is far less than my splurge jeans that actually fit.

  2. February 29, 2012 11:00 am

    Awwww that is so sweet… what a good hubby!! :D

    I thought about doing this class but since I don’t really have a ‘perfect’ pair of RTW jeans, I was less excited about it once I found out it was a rub-off type class; if it was a ‘make from scratch and fit your butt perfectly’ type class I’d be all over it like a fat kid on a smartie LOL. So instead I signed up for Gertie’s Bombshell Dress class… dunno when I’ll get around to it, but that’s what’s cool about Craftsy – it’ll be there when I’m ready ^__^

    • March 1, 2012 10:07 am

      I don’t know what a smartie is, but you’re hilarious! God, the Bombshell…. I really need to start watching that. I keep telling myself I need jeans first, though. Practical *then* knockout. I should just start the course already…

      • March 1, 2012 10:27 am

        LOL a Smartie is like an M&M, kinda…. I think the States are deprived of them LOL. I am tentatively planning to do the Bombshell class after Sew Colette is over so if you can wait til then maybe we can do it at the same time! ^__^

  3. February 29, 2012 1:31 pm

    Hehehehe… rub-off. I can’t hear that phrase without snickering like Beavis and/or Butthead! Poor Kenneth King doesn’t even know the fun we’re having behind his back!

    Also… Ry is way too sweet! What a good dude! Can’t wait to hear more about your jean-ius-y adventures!

    • March 1, 2012 10:11 am

      I’m such an immature boy! I’d like to think KK has a good sense of humor, but can you imagine if he didn’t? Blush.

      Total keeper, right?! I want to make some slight alterations to my fav pair, so I hope it works out…

  4. February 29, 2012 2:07 pm

    I signed up for Jeanius yesterday and Craftsy gave it to me for $25 just for being new to their site!!! They’re offering me another online class for $25 too… it seems rude not to take them up on the offer but I have until the end of the week to decide which class if any (pressure!) KK seems very watchable and dynamic – looking forward to seeing where this goes.

    • March 1, 2012 10:12 am

      Waaahmbulance!!! I want a $25 offer. I’d so sign up for Susan Kahlje’s class. See you in school :)

Leave a Reply

