Skip to content

The skinny on Fat Tuesday

February 21, 2012

Mardi Gras, Maslenitsa, Shrovetide, Pancake Day… whatever you call it, and whether or not you celebrate it, have a good one!!!

I know I am – a ride on my new bike to get a long-overdue massage. Does anyone else out there suffer from “sewing shoulders” that then sneak up their neck, into the jaw? Owie. Can’t blame it all on sewing, though. (Sarah-bear, if you got your hands on me, you’d be so ashamed of the knots.) I haven’t owned a bike in ages, but it was just like, you know, riding a bike. Though maybe made said massage even better. Traffic here is scary. An Aprilia scooter may have been my sole means of transport once, but I’m not quite as confident pedaling these narrow, potholed streets beside proudly aggro drivers.

I am confident about this. Hidden beneath that towel is the dough for bliniy. Mmmm…. my little buckwheat pancakes will be filled with cheese, mushrooms & garlic, some with cheese & jam. Add wine, and it’s a feast.

20120221-172334.jpg

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2012 5:44 pm

    Oh i SOOOO feel your pain… being a graphic designer, I’m stuck behind the computer all day and I get headaches constantly from tight shoulders and neck – I would kill for a massage right now!! …and of course, my sewing/drawing/reading habits do not help LOL.

    Your little savoury pancakes sound delicious!!! :)

    • February 22, 2012 10:40 am

      This modern world! We’re not made to sit at computers all day, but that’s how we live. My headaches were out of control. Of course, one massage won’t fix it, but go treat yourself girl!

  2. February 21, 2012 6:35 pm

    OMG blini! I am a freak for blini. I haven’t had any in forever…I know what we’re doing this weekend!

    Glad you took some time for yourself…gotta stay in sewing shape!

    • February 22, 2012 10:41 am

      Self care, followed by unhealthy eating! I bet you make a mad little pancake!!!

  3. February 21, 2012 7:16 pm

    i’ve got awful posture – i perch towards the edge of chair & hunch over desk, not really a fan of massages, but i do like a good ol’stretch out – i used to feel myself uncurling at pilates!
    mmm enjoy your feast – and stand your ground on the bike, don’t let the cars bully you :-)

    • February 22, 2012 10:46 am

      Same here! I try to self-correct, but it’s an effort. I use a foam roller, but sometimes just need a good knead.

      It’s no wonder cyclists ride on the sidewalk (which I hate, as a pedestrian)! I’m sure I’ll get better, but I’ve seen so many downed cyclists in my hood. You would have laughed at me taking ages to lock the freaking thing up, outside the huge windows of my favorite coffee shop, no less.

  4. February 22, 2012 1:40 pm

    Hahaha, I know the feeling… I’m so stressed out that my bike will get stolen that I’m constantly looking out the window (my bike is nothing special, but that doesn’t really matter… someone stole my $30 rusty, broken-chainguard-bike a few years ago!).

    My lower back always hurts after a lot of sewing, mainly because I just use a card table for cutting and staging and I have to bend over it.

    • February 23, 2012 9:06 am

      I think thieves just look for easy targets, regardless of value. A proper cutting table is such a pipe dream! Someday…..

  5. February 23, 2012 12:24 am

    Ooh, I’ve never tried to make blini before. Sounds yummy… and would make this house very happy.

    Haha, in a way, I kinda miss the aggro drivers (I grew up near Detroit). I still shout out my window at people who cut me off, which in Austin kinda freaks people out. But it is a sweet bike town! I sympathize with the neck pain, and I imagine just the tension of being aware of traffic would bring it on. When I’m concentrating heavily or aware of too many things, I shrug a lot (shove my shoulders in my ears, as my massage friend says).

    • February 23, 2012 9:16 am

      It was such an adjustment, living in Austin. Everyone kinda just flakes along, right! I felt like a freak for wanting to get anywhere quickly. But then moving here, where honking and running down people is a sport, was another adjustment. Granted, haven’t actually been hit here, but was hit 3 times in ATX! Many close calls while walking, though. I’ve always been a zippy driver, but not angry. My theory is that the roads are so confusing, no grid, unmarked that it makes for chaotic, aggro drivers.

Leave a Reply

