Skip to content

Vermont Valentine

February 16, 2012

blaze orange. safety first.

My entry for this week’s challenge at the Sew Weekly was posted yesterday. The theme for the week was “red”, of course. And I just had to take the opportunity to refashion this thrifted high-end RTW jacket in honor of my Dad. He has the kindest heart and always gave me a wonderful Valentine. His family also founded a tiny northern Vermont town, where I spent idyllic summers and school holidays with him. I’m a Daddy’s girl through and through.

Mushka makes a run for the mallard. Daddy bought me this wool crusher hat when I was 11 because I wanted one just like his.

The jacket, before:

Take that, Michael Kors. Think he would even recognize the jacket after I had my way with it?

Next week’s theme is Academy Award related, and being a huge film fanatic, I just had to make something. It’s done and ready to photograph, yippee! But I think I’m going to skip a few after this one. I am loving the Sew Weekly challenges, but I also really like to take my time with things. And I have a few personal sewing goals that I want to focus on, mainly concerning perfecting fit. That’s something I simply can’t tackle while rushing around to meet a self-imposed weekly deadline that includes meeting the criteria of a theme. After wearing my purple Clovers for a day, they became too baggy to flatter. I want to perfect them while they are still fresh in mind, so that I can move on to making them up in different fabric for spring. I also have a Taffy blouse and Simplicity 2724 dress to make. And my eyes are set on a waxed canvas jacket for spring. Multiple zips! For now, here’s a preview of my garment for next week’s Sew Weekly challenge:

21 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2012 11:45 am

    What a great refashion! I think it suits you perfectly, and your photo shoot is adorable. Did you change up the lapels and the sleeves at all? Super cute, and I wish it was mine :-)

    • February 18, 2012 6:02 pm

      Thanks! Sorry about that… went into more detail on the Sew Weekly post. I didn’t touch the lapels, but I did open up the shoulder seams, trimmed off a chunk of the shoulder pads (they were layers of batting, not the typical sew-in variety), then trimmed the jacket to match. I hand stitched the sleeves back on, then shortened them.

  2. February 16, 2012 12:11 pm

    Love it! It looks fabulous in the new cropped length.

  3. February 16, 2012 12:30 pm

    A major de-80’ing of that jacket! I love it!

    • February 18, 2012 6:04 pm

      Right! I couldn’t get over the shoulder pads, and who would have worn the suit as a whole. I was swimming in the jacket, but the skirt barely fits.

  4. February 16, 2012 1:32 pm

    Hello re-fashion queen! I must confess I would not have looked twice at that jacket before the refashion, but after you got your hands on it and worked your magic, well, it’s just awesome!

    • February 18, 2012 6:05 pm

      Hehe! I always make a beeline for the crazy when I walk into a thrift store :)

  5. February 16, 2012 3:35 pm

    I read your post on Sew Weekly, and I have to admit, it made me a little emotional at the end there (blushes)…. but seriously, amazing job on the jacket – you are the Queen of Upscaling!! :)

    • February 18, 2012 6:08 pm

      Aaw, I hope I didn’t sound overly emo :) Me just pounding away at the keyboard and getting wistful…

      • February 20, 2012 4:00 pm

        LOL!! No, not at all!! I just thought it was really sweet and I do tend to be overly sensitive, and love mushy things ^___^

  6. February 16, 2012 4:12 pm

    This is cute as can be! Love it!

    • February 18, 2012 6:09 pm

      I can’t stop wearing it, and am so glad the weather is cooperating!

  7. February 16, 2012 4:27 pm

    Love the jacket. Love the pic with Mushka legging it off into the distance!
    you are pretty awesome at the ol’refashioning lavender :-)

    • February 18, 2012 6:12 pm

      That rascally dog! She’s such a hunter. I’m on a refashion kick at the mo’… don’t know what got into me. Maybe avoidance of figuring out those damn Clovers once and for all.

  8. February 16, 2012 8:45 pm

    Great coat. And, I feel you on the needing to take a break from sewing weekly. I don’t know how those ladies did it last year! And Mena for two plus years already! I fell off the wagon when I couldn’t finish my jeans (for the UFO week) and haven’t gotten the courage to jump back on. Refashion and art are up soon though… Maybe they’ll tempt me back on.

    • February 18, 2012 6:16 pm

      Thanks :) It boggles my mind, too. And I have more time than ever now! I like deadlines to keep me working, but on the other hand I don’t like feeling rushed if it will compromise quality (fit or finishing, in this case). Also, I’m admittedly slow at pretty much every aspect, from cutting to hand stitching. Maybe one a month is a good plan? Can’t wait to see your jeans! They’re going to be perfect.

  9. February 16, 2012 8:50 pm

    Swwweeeeeet jacket and yay Vermont!! :)

  10. February 17, 2012 7:07 am

    Well done! I’m “sew” proud of you and all of your amazing creations! These posts never cease to amaze me.

    One of the best memories I have is at your Daddy’s camp (Odocoileus virginianus heads and kittens included)!

    P.S. Started watching Downtown Abby yesterday. Only got through half an episode…plan to finish during nap time today! ;) ANNNNND school vaca next week…you’ll be at the museum next Friday?

    • February 18, 2012 6:23 pm

      Latin makes everything better ;) Oh, man, was that the most hilarious/disgusting welcome to the wilds ever known?!

      Yes! I’ll be at the museum next week, as my schedule was wonky yesterday. Yay!!! I’ll have to refrain from DA talk… the season finale is tomorrow night.

Leave a Reply

