Skip to content

Sewing for Citizen Schools

February 1, 2012

It’s been a busy week, and I feel I’ve been lax in posts. While I have been sewing, I did spend some more time volunteering this afternoon. When the lovely Ms. Sarah invited me to join her to teach a class, I jumped at the opportunity. See, this wasn’t just any sewing class. We went to an inner city middle school to teach a little after school sewing lesson, in cooperation with Citizen Schools! This is exactly the sort of thing I am interested in, and will definitely be doing more of in the future. The room full of girls were lively and eager, some of them with a bit of sewing experience, but most with none. It’s amazing what you take for granted once you’ve been sewing a while. And frankly, what you take for granted in general. Not every girl walked away with a finished origami coin purse, but I think/hope they all left happy. Thanks so much, Sarah! Great afternoon, and I never could have done this if I hadn’t stepped away from the 9-5.

If the sun cooperates tomorrow before R leaves for work, by afternoon you’ll see my completed Negroni. I finished it up this morning, and hopefully he likes it… off to find out…

Oh, and I opted out of the Sew Weekly challenge this week. The theme was “down under” – sew something in the opposite season from the one you’re in. That sounded fun, but I’m trying to focus on things I’ll actually wear right away. Considering today’s weather, I could have gotten away with a skimpy sun dress. Fifties in February?! Crazy.

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2012 12:31 am

    What a great teaching opportunity! Sounds like a lot of fun.

    Looking forward to seeing your Negroni. I’ve had one in mind for Kelley (husband) but haven’t found the right fabric yet.

  2. February 2, 2012 8:53 am

    awwh, that’s really great. good for you. i’m sure the girls just loved it.

    i’m excited to see your negroni, too!

  3. February 2, 2012 11:25 am

    How cool! I would love to be able to teach a class like that.

    Ditto these lovely ladies– looking forward to seeing the Negroni!

  4. February 2, 2012 1:11 pm

    Yay! I’m really glad you could come. It was fun, but hard.

  5. Sheila D. permalink
    February 2, 2012 6:35 pm

    There was definitely a girlish squeal from this end one I read this post! :D

  6. February 5, 2012 3:35 pm

    Teaching sewing seems like so much fun! Heh, it hit nearly 80 here this week, total seasonal disorder. I should probably just sew for summer all year long. ;)

    • February 6, 2012 8:58 am

      I know, it’s bonkers! I remember balmy ATX winter days, but 80 is too much.

Leave a Reply

