Skip to content

Unraveling

January 28, 2012

Happy Saturday everyone! The weekend is well under way, and we had a lovely afternoon. Brilliant, in fact. If you recall, I posted about a brilliant day back in October, too. Well, it wasn’t meant to be so cryptic and I definitely didn’t mean to leave you hanging there. I had spent a few hours in Lowell, MA, at the American Textile History Museum. It was the final day of an exhibit called “Grace and Glamour: 1930s Fashions” and the garments and ephemera were jaw-dropping. As were the permanent exhibits. But right after that post, I upgraded my OS and lost Photoshop capabilities. Now that I’m using another software, I’ll get photos up for you soon :)

Back to today, the museum was holding the first of four free admission Super Saturdays. And lucky me, I volunteered for a few hours! I spent my time helping out in the learning rooms, taking photos of kiddos for the website & marketing materials. So much fun! If you are in the New England area, you absolutely have to go to this museum. AND you can find me there every other Friday from here on. Yup! I’ll be volunteering a few hours each month. I was ready to sign up back in October, so am glad it’s finally happening!!! In fact, when we first moved back to the northeast, I discovered the museum and so wanted to land a job with them. Alas, it was closed for renovations, and I lost track as I got busy with the day-to-day. How about a condo right above the museum? Almost makes me want to move to Lowell.

In other news, I’ve reopened my Etsy shop. It’s taken a different path for the moment. You can currently find a baker’s dozen of vintage sewing patterns, with more to come. Most are from the 70s, but you 40s lovers out there could use the trousers as a blueprint :) I’ll be adding more patterns soon. Along with some mid-century clothing.

Hope everyone is sewing up a storm!

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. bunny permalink
    January 28, 2012 10:50 pm

    omg, i live 20 minutes from lowell and i didn’t know there was a museum there! i will have to go there next saturday and check it out!

    • January 29, 2012 10:26 am

      You have to go! It’s a great resource. There’s a quilt museum also, but I haven’t been there yet. I love all the old textile mills in Lowell!

  2. January 29, 2012 9:11 am

    How fantastic. I think the 18 hour flight time might be a bit much for me however :(

    • January 29, 2012 10:28 am

      Just a bit ;) If you ever travel to the Boston area, def put an excursion to Lowell on your trip. It’s gritty, but has such a great textile history. And Jack Kerouac!

  3. Sheila D. permalink
    January 29, 2012 7:16 pm

    The next Friday when we don’t have school…me and girls…so there!

    • January 30, 2012 11:09 am

      Awesome! I’ll be there every other Friday, starting this week :)

  4. January 31, 2012 3:57 pm

    Ooooh lovely patterns!! I’m always looking for the perfect halter maxi dress, so if you get your hands on one, let me know, and I’ll snatch it up!! :)

Leave a Reply

