Skip to content

Studio sounds

January 25, 2012

Inspired by a peek inside the Sewer’s Bordello and the dream studios in the most recent issue of Threads, I thought I’d give you an inside view of the threadsquare studios. Way inside. I mean, you’ve already glimpsed my sewing space. And there’s not much more to it than that – my patterns, muslins, cone thread & various tools are stashed in the drawer of an antique dresser, located in the dining room (trust me, it makes sense in person). Notions, art supplies, more fabric in a closet in the sewing room/office. A couple vintage machines in the dining room with the dresser. But what you’re really dying to know is, what goes on in the mind of that seamster? I know you are. These songs always, and I mean always, pop into my head while I’m working on a project.

Every time I’m at the ironing board, you’ll find me humming this song. “Somebody remembers the dress, how it was handsome, beautifully pressed” really takes the tedium out of ironing and pressing. If you find it tedious. I tend to like it.

Whiskeytown (here acoustic Ryan Adams) / Somebody Remembers the Rose

And who doesn’t start humming The White Stripes’ The Hardest Button to Button when it comes time to add those final notions to a garment? Can we all agree Michel Gondry is beyond?

And then there’s this line from a make-believe song, wherein I change the lyric from “she sets the scene” to “she sets the seam.” A quick google search proved the song does exist, but I’ve never heard of Thee Strawberry Mynde, and in my head it’s a 13th Floor Elevators number. Weird.

I need some good prep & cutting songs. Negroni muslin is done, and now I’m finally cutting out the fabric.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2012 1:37 pm

    Let us know how it goes with the Negroni! I want to make one for my husband, but I am intimidated!

    • January 25, 2012 6:05 pm

      Will do! I’ve made dress shirts, but the flat felled seam along the already set in sleeve is gonna be nuts!

  2. January 25, 2012 1:53 pm

    I always have music on when I’m sewing. Always. Usually my big playlist of everything I like, but I have to say I like a lot of Jamiroquai when I’m sewing. It just makes me happy, I know all the words, I’ll sing and hum along. A notable song for sewing is Soul Education:

    I’ve got my soul education
    You know its stitched into the clothes
    That I wear

    So very true when I’m wearing clothing I’ve made.

    • January 25, 2012 6:08 pm

      Please tell me you wear a foil & feather headdress while sewing, too!

      • January 26, 2012 11:51 am

        Ha! Jay Kay does love his weird hats. My brain went in multiple directions at once in reply:
        1. I was until it scratched my machine when I leaned in too close.
        2. I often end up sewing in my undergarments from trying things on mid garment, the mental image of me in bra, panties and headdress was rather amusing to me.
        3. Then I had the image of fighting with the headdress while taking shirts on and off.
        4. No. Just…. no.

  3. January 25, 2012 4:23 pm

    Oh, Ryan Adams… I’ll never hear that song without thinking of sewing now!

    • January 25, 2012 6:07 pm

      Mwahaha! My plan for sewing mind control is working :) Really, though, doesn’t it make you want to do a knock out job with the iron?! So someone will find the garment someday and exclaim, “my, that’s some handsome pressing!”

  4. January 25, 2012 8:32 pm

    I too ALWAYS have music on. For a long time I was listening to a weird combo of Dresden Dolls, Edith Piaf, The Puppini Sisters, and 80s hairband. I dunno… it gets me through the project. I also dance around… what better way to test movement?

  5. January 26, 2012 10:25 am

    Wow. Ryan Adams has a beautiful voice. Too funny about about those lyrics.

    I mostly sew in silence, but if I’m home alone I BLAST cheesy pop music (like Robyn) and dance around while I sew. That’s a good time to me. :)

    I can’t wait to see your Negroni! I aaaalmost bought it the other day, but decided to wait. I’d like to hear how fitting, etc went.

    • January 26, 2012 11:30 am

      Robyn!!! You know, I work in silence a lot, too. It’s soothing. I’d say it’s a pretty even split between music & silence for me. My internal soundtrack always plays these three songs when I’m doing certain tasks, regardless of what’s playing or not playing in the room. I wonder if now that I’ve acknowledged them openly, they’ll go away… a sort of mindfulness/meditation thing?

      • January 26, 2012 11:33 am

        And yes, a total sucker for RA’s voice. And lyrics. And I really do love the early Whiskeytown albums so, so much :)

        • January 27, 2012 4:51 pm

          Me, too! Although I only listen to them if I’m already in a good mood… if I’m feeling blue, Ryan and co can swirl me into a sea of sadness! Cheesy but true… :)

Leave a Reply

