Skip to content

Pretty Things Blouse

January 19, 2012

Oh yeah… The Pretty Things blouse is up on the Sew Weekly. And I’m pretty happy with it. Here’s a Hipstamatic shot of the hand worked buttonholes before I remade them. I suppose in the photo they don’t look that bad, and y’all will think I’m crazy for ripping them out and starting over. But one of them wasn’t pretty. And I’m much more pleased with the look of the crochet cotton versions. Doily making isn’t in my near future, so I’m glad to have found a use for those spools.

*UPDATE* Here are the new buttonholes. They don’t look much different in these photos. And the originals might even look a bit more delicate. Just trust me that in person, the reworked version is more pleasing. K? K. Oh, and excuse the different lighting conditions :)

If you like beer and it’s available in your area, run out and try some Pretty Things. This blouse was celebrated with Jack D’Or and Hedgerow Bitter, in our new Pretty Things goblets. You can find them at the pop-up shop Process (by Fringe studios) in Union Square, Somerville.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2012 11:32 am

    Oooh, what a nice top! Lovely colours and I really like the fitted look. You’re right: the buttonholes look good from here but I bet you’re happy that you went through the trouble of re-doing them – you’re the one who has to wear this pretty thing after all!

  2. January 19, 2012 11:33 am

    They are some good lookin’ buttonholes…
    And nice goblets!

  3. January 19, 2012 12:49 pm

    I love it!!!! I love everything you make, it’s all so cute :)

  4. January 19, 2012 1:22 pm

    I know I commented over on Sew Weekly but my comments have a tendency to get shoved to the spam box (?) so I’ll say it again here… those buttonholes look amazing so the reworked ones must be perfect! Beautiful job, Lavender, and I love that you used crochet cotton.

    • January 20, 2012 10:22 am

      Happens to me, too… then there’s the post where I kept commenting, and they all ended up going through. Looked like a total fool! Until I get some hands on the real deal, I’m loving the crochet cotton :)

  5. January 19, 2012 2:20 pm

    So pretty, and I love the hand worked buttonholes, I stand (sit) in awe of your patience.

  6. January 19, 2012 3:15 pm

    Gorgeous. I love that you celebrating its making.

    • January 20, 2012 10:23 am

      Thanks, Amy! Sew. Beer. Exercise. Beer. hehe! Interesting small, casual study in the recent Runner’s World about beer drinking & running, btw.

  7. January 19, 2012 3:48 pm

    They look really cool from here. That is some serious patience. And I really love the texture of the fabric… cotton?

    • January 20, 2012 10:25 am

      Thanks! It’s a rayon challis in a twill weave. The twill caused some jagged edges while cutting with the rotary tool, but maybe my blade wasn’t sharp enough. It feels buttery :)

  8. January 20, 2012 3:58 pm

    Freakin’ adorable! You look great in red!

  9. January 21, 2012 8:34 am

    Pretty! I love the notched collar in contrast facing, such a cute detail!

  10. January 21, 2012 8:56 am

    Great idea, gorgeous execution! it frames your face so beautifully with the contrast facing. Love the red herringbone fabric too, yum!

  11. January 21, 2012 6:34 pm

    Yay for beer!!

    That color is smokin’ on you! It’s a beautiful top and looks comfortable (note to myself) as well as stylish. And look at those fancy buttonholes. I’m impressed.

  12. January 25, 2012 9:24 am

    Those hand worked buttonholes look great! My stitching is never even on those. Love the contrast of the fabrics, you pretty thang:)

  13. Heather permalink
    February 22, 2012 2:24 pm

    What weight of crochet cotton is this? I’ve been wanting to re-do some buttonholes on a vintage coat and would love to know.

    thank you! Lovely top!

    • February 27, 2012 11:16 am

      I’m not certain… it’s an old spool, and the sticker from the tag sale is covering up what looks like the number 30. Does that make sense? To be honest, I don’t really know anything about crochet cotton, or if that number is relevant :)

Trackbacks

  1. Stitching Spotlights – 1/20/2012

Leave a Reply

