Skip to content

Jill of all trades

October 26, 2011

A few days ago Over a week ago, Andrea at Stitch Parade was kind enough to tag me with the Versatile Blogger award. Then I saw a comment from AnaJan of Štepalica yesterday with the same tag-you’re-it. Why, thank you ladies! :D The rules are simple:

  • Thank the person who gave you the award and link back to them in your post;
  • Share seven things about yourself on your blog; and
  • Pass this award along to recently discovered blogs.
Okay, here goes…
  1. The name threadsquare is a little portmanteau I made up combining my love of the cloth & Mother Russia. I’m not Russian, nor do I have any in my lineage, but a girl can fall in love with the first foreign land she visits. In fact, it’s been way too long since my last trip to Россия.
  2. Although recently I’ve fully embraced blogging, and am thus constantly running drafts through my internal dialogue, it’s still a strange endeavor. No matter how carefully articulated a post is, or how obviously off-the-cuff, there will always be room for misconstrued words. Whether giving advice, asking for advice, sharing something personal or just being funny, blogging is a weird, weird world. To me, I think it always will be. At least a little bit. On the other hand, I’ve “met” and met some cool people who otherwise would have forever remained strangers. That’s worth it! Totally.
  3. Every time I put up a less-than-stellar photograph, which is often, I squirm a little. My BFA was in photography, but a girl only has x number of hours for sewing, y for writing, z for photoging…. sigh. Also, I really did love the color darkroom. Photoshop is an amazing tool. Don’t get me wrong. But I’ll admit that sitting in front of the screen just doesn’t do it for me like the CMY dials and a Kreonite machine did. All that means is that I need a refresher course!
  4. I love cheese. Really love it. Stinky, pungent, mild, creamy… you name it, I’ll eat it. Blue-veined, triple crème, cave-aged, farmer’s fresh. And yogurt, kefir, real half & half in my coffee. But just the thought of a glass of milk makes me gag.
  5. Chips & salsa. Practically every day. I’m an addict, but don’t even think about staging an intervention, because then I’d have to resort to eating stinky cheese every day. And that’s a bit more fattening.
  6. Music plays a huge role in my life. I like almost all music, even country. I said it…. But, and that is a very strong but, I couldn’t tell you what’s playing on your local country dial. I’m just as snobby about my music as everything else. My allegiances lie in the outlaw music of Johnny Cash, Willie Nelson, Kris Kristofferson, Waylon Jennings, Merle Haggard, alt-country stylings like Whiskeytown, Uncle Tupelo, Avett Bros, Bottle Rockets, Neko Case, genre-defying Wilco, Townes Van Zandt, Gram Parsons and Steve Earle. If I had a cassette for all the times I’ve heard “I like everything but country”, I’d send each person a mixtape of fantastic music.
  7. Film is also a huge part of my life. In fact, my husband and I married in a movie theatre!

Okay, now for the best part of all, tagging bloggers with the Versatile Blogger Award. Huzzah!!! Random order of awesomeness:

14 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2011 7:32 am

    I’m with you on your love for cheese/hate for milk, missing a good old darkroom and your fondness of Johnny Cash. Thanks for sharing!

    • November 3, 2011 11:16 am

      Thanks for tagging me, Andrea! This was fun, and it’s such a great way to discover new-to-me blogs

  2. October 27, 2011 9:54 am

    Love the picture in the movie theatre :)

    Lucky me!! Thank you very much :)
    Actually I had the pretty same award a few months ago and I’ve already shared my 7 revelations (written in English too):
    http://weriem.com/en/2011/05/7petitesrevelations/

    But just for you, 2 other things: I loooooove cheese too, I can die for it!! And I can’t bear purple color.

    • November 3, 2011 11:18 am

      Mmmm…cheese! Too funny about purple – everything given to me as a child was purple, so I have an aversion to it. But I’m coming around lately, if only because the color suits me. Guess my parents were on to something when they named me.

  3. October 27, 2011 10:08 pm

    I like cheese and hate milk too.
    An alt-country suggestion, New Country Rehab. http://www.newcountryrehab.com/

  4. October 28, 2011 4:30 am

    Married in a movie theater, how cool! *g* I’m with you about the photography. While I never actually took a darkroom class (though I’d still like to at some point), before I started sewing, my creativity went into photography. Alas, there’s only so much time in a day… ;)

    • November 3, 2011 11:19 am

      I know, right… wish I could survive on 3 hours of sleep like some people.

  5. November 2, 2011 6:08 pm

    I want to hear more about your wedding! What a great idea. Totes love cheese too, but how can you shun milk?? Have you tried organic? That’s pretty funny. Even though I’m a new blogger (or maybe because of it?) I constantly over-analyze what I’m writing and I’m careful about what I reveal for fear of offending someone. At some point I just have to let go, right?

    Thanks for sharing!

    • November 3, 2011 11:24 am

      Organic, raw, you name it. There’s a dairy in Maine that sells glass bottles of organic milk, and I used to like the flavored varieties (blueberry, coffee, chocolate, etc), and will drink a fresh glass if I happen to be on a farm. But I just can’t buy a gallon to drink. Maybe we’ve seen too many Woody Allen films?! Analyze the analyzing!

  6. November 7, 2011 9:46 am

    I love this picture of you and your husband. I also think blogging is a strange, but weirdly liberating world. It’s taken me a while to get comfortable with it, and I still don’t like to show my face, but I don’t think I would ever have met the cool sewing pepes I’ve “met” without a blog:)

    • November 8, 2011 11:03 am

      You nailed it! Strange, yet liberating, and it’s been so fantastic to find other people interested in sewing… much better than thinking you’re the only one who wants to talk about the perfect way to finish a hem!!!

  7. November 22, 2011 7:52 pm

    That is fun that you also like the outlaw country singers, as I don’t often meet people who do. The DJ at my sister’s wedding in October played Waylon upon request for a couple of us who were out on the dance floor.

    • November 23, 2011 3:41 pm

      That’s fantastic! I can’t believe he/she actually had any :)

Leave a Reply

