Skip to content

Mane in vain: a half decade of hair

October 13, 2011

One of the most stylish people I’ve never met in person recently left me a sweet comment on my BurdaStyle wall, saying she liked my new hair cut. Thing is, this isn’t a hair cut. It’s a lack of a hair cut. I thought I’d grow out my hair again, after having it short for a while now. But this got me to thinking. My cousin once told me that every time she sees me, I have new hair. So I’ve compiled a few images from the last five years or so. It’s true. I’m fickle. I like change.

I look back at some of these styles, and think man, that was kinda cute (others, not so much). But once I’ve been sporting a new ‘do for a few months, I tend to want something fresh. How is it that I can stick to the same scent for a decade, but desire new tresses every six months? Maybe it keeps me from getting bored, but it also drives me mad… should I find a style that works and stick it out for a good long while?

After seeing all the lovely long locks in Utah last weekend, the desire to get over the ugly growing out phase is stronger. But growing one’s hair is the kind of change that comes slowly. So slowly, that by the time I’m there, I’ll probably hack it off again! See, fickle. It’s a vicious cycle. Also, I tend to think short hair is pretty darn sexy. But it’s expensive, and I’ll admit that the cost of upkeep really weighs in here :(

Another thing to consider is that I’m more of a shower & go person. Yeah, I’ll hit it with the blow dryer if necessary, and some of the styles below involved ye olde flatiron. But I prefer a quick fix, a dash of some goop. I’m in awe of women who spend an hour on their hair. They look fantastic, but it makes me want to hide under the sheets and hit snooze just thinking about that effort.

Time for a little crowd sourcing… So, what do you think? Weigh in on my hairy past, no holds barred. Do you spend a fussy amount of time on your hair? Wash and run? Do you rock it short? Romantic and long?

6.20.06 Brown, ironed, but after a day in humidity. This was a long growing process from an Amelie-esque cut.
7.8.06 Black, ironed & ironed again
1.1.07 Brown, longest since high school, scrunched up
10.13.07 Black w/red highlights, short-ish, very thinned out, ironed
8.21.08 Brown, more conservative bob, not my papoose ;)
6.6.09 Brown, most conservative & thickest of the bobs… guess I had a variation of this longer than I thought
2.14.10 Last attempt at growth, and I could only make it this far
12.9.2010 Brownish black & very short!
8.21.11 Brown, short & attempting to grow. Helmet head, and notice the sideburns. Yeah, I have elfish sideburns, always have :(

Next post is definitely NOT going to contain an image of moi. Good god, I feel ridic.

Also, many thanks again to BurdaStyle for featuring my Rooibos the other day. Making a girl blush once more :)

28 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2011 1:32 pm

    I really love your current style! Very short is pretty sexy too! I have long and curly hair, I spend no time in the bathroom, just wash and go. I would like to have a fringe or to have short hair but if I do that, I’ll really look like my mother and grand’ma! So I have the same hair cut since… pfffew!

    • October 14, 2011 9:33 am

      Your hair is so brilliant! If mine were curly, I would definitely want it as long as yours. Glad I’m not the only wash & go gal :)

  2. October 13, 2011 2:18 pm

    It is funny when you get a compliment on a “new” hair cut when really it’s been 8 weeks, or 4 months… I had my hair all one length all through high school and university. At the end of 4th year I thought I’d be daring and try a few layers. It’s not really a big difference but it sure felt like it to me. Now I’m game for most ideas my stylist has.

    I think the key part is figuring out a few things that don’t change rather than trying to get a look that is a constant struggle. 1. The amount of time you want to spend, 2. the kind of hair you have, and 3. the shape of your face.

    It amazes me how different you look in the pictures and yet I can’t quite settle on which I like best. Each are good for different reasons.

    • October 14, 2011 9:37 am

      I had the same hair in high school…all one length, no bangs, mid-back, almost to waist. Hey, it was the 90s, it was New Hampshire :) Got to college, cut it short, shaved it off. It was still the 90s and I was in art school. Ha! I’ve been chopping and growing ever since.

  3. October 13, 2011 3:35 pm

    I like them all. I really love the bobs the best, but they are my go-to style, as well. I am in the process of growing out my hair because I can’t stand the maintenance involved in keeping it short – and I do like a ponytail!

    • October 14, 2011 9:47 am

      Bobs are so classic! But that’s the thing…it’s soooo much maintenance, and then when it’s long, I rely too much on a ponytail!

  4. October 13, 2011 3:38 pm

    Now this is totally unfair. Looking good in both long and short hair is just not fair. I’m goign to at least need you to find an unflattering color so I will feel the universe is fair again.

    • October 14, 2011 9:53 am

      May I direct your attention here? Yes, it’s a costume, but it’s pretty awful, no? Your short! red! hair is killing me and my willpower. I want to go to there.

  5. October 13, 2011 3:42 pm

    All you hairstyles are super cute, but I like your current do best. I’ve also gone through many hair transformations over the past ten years (it’s hair after all, it grows back!) but I’ve had the same boring mid length look for a while now and am itching to chop it off. Problem is I never spend any time on my hair at all and I find short hair more work than long hair (what with the inevitable bed head and all) so that’s what holds me back. And while I decide what to do I look at photos of cute haircuts like yours and try and get the courage to become a slave to hair goo again. One of these days…

    • October 14, 2011 10:00 am

      That’s so true about short hair being more work. If it’s super-duper short, I can wet & go, but longer than 3″, and there is a bit of fussiness involved, until it’s to the shoulders again (that’s my experience, anyway).

  6. lindsaybobindsay permalink
    October 13, 2011 4:29 pm

    Thank you for showing me I am not the only one who facillates wildly between short and long and different shades! I’m growing mine out after almost shaving my head in ’09… talk about an ugly duckling period. Let’s just say my hair doesn’t lay down flat like yours did. What did you think of the ‘thinned’ haircut? My stylist recently thinned my hair and I hate it!

    Good luck with your hair growth– I find new hair accessories/styles help keep me from picking up the ol’ cutting shears.

    • October 14, 2011 10:06 am

      Haha! I did the shaved head thing, too! (see above comment) And it was sooo ugly growing it out from a buzz cut. Remember Monchichis? I’m aging myself here, but that’s what a post-buzz cut looks like! I’ve had both good and bad thinning experiences, so I think it really depends on the stylist. My hair is so thick. A quick razor cut was awful, but one stylist thinned for ages with shears, and it was amazing!

  7. October 13, 2011 5:07 pm

    Lavender, you are so pretty! I LOVE your hair and it looks great at any length. I agree that short hair is sexy and it really suits you. I mean, even shoulder-length is darling if you want to go longer between cuts.

    I put in product and air-dry it mostly, but when I look at pictures of myself I’m like, “OMG WTF IS THAT FRIZZY MESS AROUND MY FACE?” The nice thing is that I get it colored about every eight weeks and snipped every sixteen. Yee-haw! That saves a lot of money. I’m sure in six months my hair will be shoulder-length and platinum. I change it drastically all of the time!

    • October 14, 2011 10:10 am

      Your hair is so long and pretty!!! Yes! Having it long is so much more, ahem, cost-effective. Unless I give it the old college try & hack at like in the past.

      I would love to see you platinum!!! That would be so awesome :)

  8. Meigz permalink
    October 13, 2011 9:40 pm

    I love your hair as it is now! If I had cheekbones like yours I’d be rocking a ‘do just like that! Seriously cool, chic, and sexy all at once. Personally, I’m a wash, comb and air dry kind of girl. There are too many other things for me to do rather than spending time on my hair. :)

    • October 14, 2011 10:16 am

      Exactly!!! There is coffee to drink, yogurt & danishes to eat, buses to catch. I don’t even comb mine though (unless it’s long)…that’s laziness. I feel so frumpy now…thanks for the vote of confidence!

  9. October 14, 2011 6:30 am

    I like all the styles, but I think brown looks best on you. Having a straight hair (and a pretty face) really makes a room for all the different styles you’ve tried.
    I, with my curly hair, can only vary a bit with length: from chin length to shoulder length. Either way, it has to be cut in a certain way, otherwise I look as if I’m wearing a broom on my head :). When I was 18 I had a really short hair and it looked good on me. However, it took 2 years to grow, and I went through all the hilarious phases during that period. Never again was I so bold to try cutting off my hair. From time to time, I straighten my hair, and it looks good, too. But it lasts until the next wash (or rain).

    • October 14, 2011 10:20 am

      Another gorgeous, long curly-haired woman! The grass is always greener, I suppose. All your curls and volume are awesome!! Waaay back in grade school, I tried to get that with a perm, but it didn’t stick for very long. I do love black hair, but it does wash me out :(

  10. Jennifer Marsh-Crowe permalink
    October 14, 2011 7:51 am

    I like the recent style best, however, you are naturally beautiful no matter how you wear your hair!

  11. October 14, 2011 1:43 pm

    I’m totally a wash&go girl, but then my hair sticks up in all directions, so I take the 5 minutes to blowdry it. I’ve tried long hair but on me it looks totally boooooring! I try to stick to only 4 haircuts a year though, and it mostly works…

    I really like your current style, but photo no. 2 is definitely runner up. You look very evil sexy in that pic… ;)

  12. October 15, 2011 10:15 am

    Oh, I found your blog via Stitch Parade and am I glad I did! Wonderful photos and a fun vibe here. Hair-love your short cuts, and think you look amazing with it away from your face. If I had your features, I’d be shorn also :-)

  13. isabel permalink
    October 16, 2011 8:56 am

    Hi!
    You don´t know me, and I don´t have a blog, but i´m learning to sew and found yours through Oonabaloona. I could not resist commenting on your hair. You do look a bit like Amelie with your current hair. Leave it like that! It really highlights your cheekbones.
    Well, I like your clothing sytle and I´ll be having a look at your blog now and then :-)
    Greetings from Berlin.

    Isabel

  14. October 16, 2011 9:01 pm

    Delurking to say that I found your blog through the Colette blog and… I took my laptop with me when I went to get my hair cut and asked my stylist to give me a haircut that looked like yours! I loved the style you have with the Sorbetto picture. (Like you, I have longish sideburns; mine look strange if they’re cut short, so I always keep them longish and tucked behind my ears.)

    I’m dying to ask you – how do you keep the hair on your forehead swept to the side? I am using all manner of goo, but by 10 AM, I need a clip to keep it out of the way.

    • October 17, 2011 9:28 am

      That is too funny! I’ve had stylists shave off the sideburns in the past, and I almost want to scream “NO, you’ll make it worse! I’ll have stubble like a man!” As for the fringe – well, if I’m growing out short Bettie Page bangs, there is always a difficult period where I’m training them to stay swept over. Right now, they’re not quite long enough to fully tuck behind my ear, so I’m constantly combing down with my fingers, then brushing them to the side. There are always stragglers, especially from a cowlick right at my part! I just try to finger train/tame, and toss a little hair serum in while still damp :)

  15. Nicole Tobin permalink
    October 17, 2011 10:00 am

    I just wanted to say that you had the bob that i’ve always wished for! You look fantastic in the bob! However, I get the trying to grow the hair out, I have been doing this for the last two years and it’s the longest i’ve ever had it- I grew it from being above the ears and it’s now down to the middle of my back. It really helped to stop dying it- because then it was way healthier. I constantly have to fight the urge to dye/cut change my hair though, which is the hardest part- I dyed my hair for half my life and sometimes I really miss the ability to change something so quick. Good luck with whatever you decide.

    • October 17, 2011 11:36 am

      thanks… I’m pretty partial to the bob, too :) I’ve got so many silvers now, though…

  16. October 22, 2011 7:27 pm

    very late comment but i’m catching up on my internet wanderings and this is such a funny post in a holding up a mirror kind of way – i could do the same, short hair, bobs, fringes that are no longer fringes, shoulder length hair that used to be a bob but i never came back for a trim… in fact only a few months ago we were compiling pics for a friends hen (bachelorette) party and over only a 2-3 year period i have different hair in every picture :-)
    ps. LOVE that you rocked an Amelie cut…

Leave a Reply

