Skip to content

Self Stitched September – week 4

October 3, 2011

Let’s start off by me writing and you reading that I am not feeling very articulate today. I’m loopy, feel like I’ve been on an all-night study bender for two weeks straight. How did I survive college? There’s no real reason for this queasy, spaced out state I’m in. Oh, wait… the Sewing Summit is this weekend! I have loads I want to finish up before I hop on that flight west. I’ll actually stick to a lesson learned this time, and not attempt to cram it all in & end up with projects I would be ashamed to wear.

One thing at a time, so let’s knock this recap out, shall we? It’s a day late, but who’s counting.

9.26.11

Spotted shopping at Trader Joe’s after work, sporting a JJ and wishing I’d picked up some Joe-Joe’s.

Super-quick photo with a thunderstorm bearing down

9.27.11 Didn’t snag a new photo, but I had this exact outfit on, down to the necklace that I made of aqua pearls and graphite & persimmon Swarovski crystals. This print is so distinctive that I feel I shouldn’t wear it too often, despite my desire to live in it.

9.28.11

The Wednesday flickr challenge was to take a night shot. I knew once I slogged home on the T after sewing club, that going back out for a photo shoot was out of the question. Instead, R graciously came to pick me up, and we spotted this entry down the block from Grey’s.  When we’re feeling ambitious, I might drag R back to this spot for a proper shoot with a proper camera. But I do have a soft spot for this Hipstamatic photo. I’m wearing my high-waisted denim pencil skirt, a belt from Goodwill and a thrifted blouse that R gave me back when we were just pals. (He had me at “I picked this up for you at Goodwill.”) I wish the shoes were visible…ah well.

9.29.11

I wasn’t feeling it today. Almost wore a skirt that I made too long ago, but I just couldn’t bring myself to do it. The fabric is gorgeous, but it is so ill-fitted. I’ll have to do a blog post about it, show off my past crimes of fashion & sewing misdemeanors. What I am wearing that is hand made are the earrings. The cardi is vintage, the tee Target.

9.30.11

My big reveal/go out with a bang was going to be the Rooibos. Just. Couldn’t. Finish. Instead, I took some color combo inspiration from a fellow SSSer on flickr, and opted for the copper? mini, paired with an aqua thrifted sweater, butterscotch amber necklace & Miss Sixty shoes. I love those shoes, but they’re a tad tight, and the rubber heel is worn down to metal. Dangerous, kittens!

And that’s it. SSS is over. I will definitely participate the next time a self-stitched/me-made month rolls around. And hopefully my wardrobe gaps will be filled in. It’s been fabulously inspiring to see what people around the world are making and wearing on a daily basis.

Takeaways:

  • Stop sewing orphans. They’re colorful & fun, but a closet full of items that aren’t interchangeable makes life difficult at times.
  • I remember telling someone recently that I have so much black, red and grey, and that I really need to start mixing it up. Am I blind?
  • I really need to sew more tops.
  • And trousers.
  • And items that I can wear my cowboy boots with. It hurts us to go an entire month without pulling on a pair of reptile & cow goodness. (Vegans, don’t judge.)
  • Show & tell of undocumented projects is fabulous for evaluation of progress, learning to let go of items we’re still connected to sentimentally, and flat out funny. It’s nice to see how far you’ve come, get new perspective on what you know and what you thought you knew.
  • I dress much more professionally when there are photos involved.
6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2011 6:19 pm

    “Stop sewing orphans” should be my mantra! I didn’t have enough done things to get involved in any challenges but I’ve sure picked up some good advise.

    • October 4, 2011 9:14 am

      I had loads of repeats, but I’m okay with that. And you make up your own rules, which is a huge plus! Some people challenged themselves to a hand made garment a week…totally doable :D

  2. October 3, 2011 11:27 pm

    I’m with you on the need to make more tops and trousers. I live in them, yet I’ve only made a single Sorbetto and no pants.

    • October 4, 2011 9:15 am

      Me, too! I now have three WIP pants, and it’s time to put on my game face and finish them.

  3. Sheila D. permalink
    October 4, 2011 7:03 am

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this post! I wish I could write as articulate as you on your non-articulate days! ;)

    One goal of mine is to clean up this office/sewing room before I leave (you’d keel over). You’ve really been inspiring me to sew (you always do!)…just have to find the M.O.T.I.V.A.T.I.O.N. and time!!!

    To go along with the “buy nothing new”…I snagged a few things for the kiddos at a church Harvest Fair this weekend. They had a HUGE yard sale of mostly kids clothes/toys. Got some cute boots for both girls and a pretty purple (Miss S. was over-the-moon), corduroy blouse. It’s nice living in this town for yard sales.

    Have a wonderful time at Sewing Summit! Maybe we’ll run into each other at the Airport…’cause that’s how we roll! :D

    xoxo
    S.

    • October 4, 2011 9:18 am

      Sounds like I need to come picking out in the sticks ;) Good thing Miss S. is nowhere near my size! I should add Craigslist, the library, Etsy (vintage & upcycle shops) to the list. Crossing paths at the gate?! Off to email you now….

Leave a Reply

