Skip to content

Buy Nothing New month

September 30, 2011

Today marks the final day of Self Stitched September. I’ll do my usual weekly recap, and then some thoughts on the challenge overall, this weekend. In the mean time, check this out!

click through for details & to make a pledge!

I discovered Recycled Fashion during this month in the flickr group. Erica, upcycler extraordinaire, mentioned this hip happening in Australia during the month of October. I’ve done Buy Nothing Day for years, and coming off of SSS, I’m feeling up for a bigger challenge. Actually, it should be ridiculously easy. I rarely shop for clothing as it is. I have shelves of books that need reading. Birthday gifts are best when handmade. However, despite my stash-bustin’, I do still pick up new fabric from time to time. Let’s see if I can break that for a month straight. I think I can :)

Want to join in?! Here are a few resources (local, US & international) that we already utilize at home. Holler if you know of more:

I especially love the quotes by Bill Bryson, Will Rogers and Vivienne Westwood on the homepage.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2011 6:31 am

    Oh thank you for mentioning me, my blog, and the Buy Nothing New Campaign too. Buy Nothing Day is a great concept too

  2. October 1, 2011 9:31 am

    What a great thought for going into October. I was hoping for October to be more of a take-time-to-catch-up-on-life month – getting ahead in work, finishing sewing projects that I’ve had sitting around for awhile, read more about how to sew well, putting the house in order – none of which needs anything new. Now I think I’ll stick to that plan, since I know that other’s are doing much of the same elsewhere. It’s nice to have a bit of solidarity.

    • October 4, 2011 9:20 am

      I’m in much the same boat. I don’t really need anything, and this will be a good way to finish up projects, entertain myself with reading, etc. However, I could use some new sewing needles….

  3. lindsaybobindsay permalink
    October 3, 2011 11:34 am

    This sounds awesome! I have a lot I need to get this month, so I was thinking I’d wait til November, but that’s prime early holiday shopping… hmmm… may just have to be content to follow your adventures! I do love Buffalo Exchange and thrifting.

Leave a Reply

