Skip to content

Dawned on me

September 29, 2011

That I forgot to direct your attention to the Now Playing section. It’s right over there. To the right of the screen. Maybe scroll down a tad.

Wilco fan? Check. NPR junkie? Check. I haven’t made it to the record store yet (this album came out Tuesday), but you can listen to it in its entirety over on the First Listen section of NPR. It might just make your day. I know mine was made.

Also – the word of the day on my iPhone app just popped up. Woolgathering. Noun. Indulgence in idle daydreaming. Not what I expected, but love it just the same.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2011 9:16 pm

    First you automatically say Replacements when Mpls is mentioned, and now you’re a Wilco fan too? Not that it’s so surprising, but it does delight me. I’ve loved Jeff Tweedy since Uncle Tupelo, but you’re not an oldnik like me…

    • September 30, 2011 8:53 am

      Yes! Replacements (I have a huge crush on PW), Wilco…all time forever favorites! I also love Uncle Tupelo, Son Volt, Jay Farrar, but was admittedly listening to much different music in 1992… some good, some very, very bad :) I don’t know if it will be picked up, but I saw a doc by a local filmmaker last year called “Color Me Obsessed”. It was just okay, though maybe the release will be more finely tuned/edited.

      • September 30, 2011 11:40 am

        I sold PW a Spin magazine with Iggy Pop on the cover in 1987. I didn’t talk to him about loving him so much out of respect, but I did swap his $20 from out of the register and kept it for as long as I could afford to. I did ask Bob Stinson to go to my prom with me in 1986, but he was on tour for Tim. :(

Leave a Reply

