Skip to content

Delayed gratification

September 26, 2011

If you can call it that.

I don’ t know what I was thinking. Last weekend, I finished my (first of three…more on that later) Rooibos muslin, and decided I would tackle its fit issues once my new book arrived. Instead of my typical pinch here/tuck there methodology of fit, it’s high-time I learn the correct techniques. Dutifully setting the stitched-up sheet aside, but still needing something to make myself feel accomplished, I opted for another one of these tops.

Now, this pattern is easy. Very easy. Chiffon has a mind of its own. I know this. While far from being a master chiffon wrangler, I have had successes. And headaches.

This project turned out to be more of the latter, unfortunately. It isn’t a total fail; it’s serviceable. But not something I would want to show off to an experienced seamster. And the hardest thing to realize is that the failures are all mine. I know better than to want instant gratification when working with this textile. I know that I can’t feel rushed, by my own accord or another’s. I know the right frame of mind is key.

Wednesday I put the finishing touches on what should have been a one-hour blouse. I wore it Thursday, and it’s okay. But I do admit to wishing I’d done this iridescent navy chiffon justice. Must remember that this fall palette challenge is what I make it, and I don’t need to rush through something just to have a first project completed.

What’s wrong, you query? Well, chiffon needs room to flow nicely. Should have gone a little looser in the bust. Also, it’s a tad tight in the armscye. The bias binding along the neckline is far from perfect, and I almost mangled the keyhole.

Side note: initially, my idea was to make this into the Wenlan blouse, which is on my fall sewing inspiration board…. alas, that pattern calls for much more yardage than I had of the chiffon.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 26, 2011 3:22 pm

    Oh, I know you’re not thrilled with it, but I think this top is gorgeous. The little pleats at the neckline and that keyhole… On another note, I got Fit for Real People a couple months ago, and it may just be the most valuable book in my collection. I hope you enjoy it!

    • September 27, 2011 8:19 am

      Thanks for the sweet comment :) This was one of those “fool me twice, shame on me” moments. I am so excited to read this book cover to cover, 90s fashions and all!

  2. September 27, 2011 8:58 am

    wow. well, i agree with abby, it looks stunning. mine would be a ragged bunched up mess, i HATE chiffon. sewing it, that is.

    what about that fabulous jacket? I LUST AFTER THAT JACKET!!!

    • September 27, 2011 10:45 am

      oh, man…you have to see the rest of the suit…. i will post photos!

  3. September 27, 2011 10:56 am

    I’m wearing a cotton version of that shirt today! I’m sure your chiffon version doesn’t look as bad as you think it does. The rolled hem, in particular, looks quite finely done!

  4. September 27, 2011 12:26 pm

    Seriously- you look fab in this- the jacket is delish and the top looks so great!!

  5. September 28, 2011 2:35 pm

    Gorgeous , I’ve wanted to do a jacket and I love your choice in pattern,and fabric !
    Someday, when I have the extra confidence, I hope to try Chiffon. I like your great style.
    Thanks for the photos, truly lovely.
    Elise

Leave a Reply

