Skip to content

Self Stitched September – week 2

September 21, 2011

I have to admit, I’m pretty chuffed so far. While I’ve had loads of repeat wears, I wasn’t certain that I’d make it this far with only one skipped day. Also, I’m not overly upset about the repeats, as it’s my opinion that with a solid base of garments, infinite outfits can be made. Who really needs racks upon racks of clothing? That said, I know that I often sew one-offs that go with nothing else (orphans, as the saying goes), and am missing several key basics in my wardrobe. Hence my involvement in the Fall Palette Challenge, as a way to better plan and organize a group of projects. My own little fall line, if you will. There were some very helpful tips for doing just this in a Threads article over the summer.

9.12.11

Back to the grind. It’s a good/bad thing that my office is so cazh. I can get away with this little outfit, but it’s a slippery slope. And this project is good for making me not slide down it too far. Sorbetto is getting tons of mileage, though!

9.13.11

After last week, the weather rebounded. And I was happy to get to wear my MTM dress again. Every time I walk under this overpass, that certain Red Hot Chili Peppers song gets stuck in my head. And I walk under it fairly often to get to the grocers. I’ll spare you a link to the video. I’m kind like that.

9.14.11

The Coffee Date dress, paired with a vintage/yard sale silk scarf as belt and me-made earrings.

9.15.11

This is an older project, pre-blog. It’s Burda 8153 view A, and I made it while in Austin at the now-closed First Samples sewing studio. It doesn’t get a lot of wear, but in a way I’m still kind of proud of it. I painstakingly matched the eyelet pattern on each side of the bodice, the cuffs, collar and sleeves. And my topstitching is pretty fab, which goes to show that sometimes now I can be rushed. This was my first experience with shrunken interfacing, and prompted me to swear off fusible. (I just bought some for the first time in ages, so we’ll see if I’ve learned anything) Luckily I had enough to cut the collar again. Also, was excited to use my one-step buttonhole feature for the first time, which at this point is just about all I like on that machine. Why doesn’t this get much wear, you ask? Well, it’s a tad snug in the bust and across the shoulders, so I can’t quite extend my arms straight out in front of me. Also, I should add a second set of buttonholes to complete the French cuffs, even though the pattern has you leave them as pictured. They’re just too floppy and impractical for me, despite looking cool. This is a decent shirt pattern, so I should really revisit it and learn the necessary adjustments. Oh, I’m using silk knots for cuff links, and the earrings are made by tasty.

You might recognize this photo from a past post, because obviously my hair doesn’t grow that quickly and I didn’t rush out and get extensions. No time for a photo, but this is what I wore on 9.16.11. I haven’t captioned it like the others in this series because I’m afraid if I do so, it will pop up that way on the Sweet Talk post, as well. Anyway, that’s the Burda Kristen dress in cotton poplin (pretty penny on that), hand-dyed chiffon accent and a silk charmeuse lining. Yup, it feels divine against the skin. This is a tad loose on me now, which is great, but a shame after all the hard work that went into it.

9.17.11

Breaking out another oldie here with this Simplicity 4698 view A jacket. As you can see, it’s a bit loose, and always has been. I think this jacket deserves its own post, so stay tuned. The half gloves were handmade by a friend – she spun, dyed and knit them from her rabbit’s fur! I love them so much :)  I wore a variation of this outfit on Sunday. It’s the weekend, y’all!

Phew, I think we’re done here folks. I promise not to be so tardy with the next installment. I’m kinda spent, so don’t really feel like doing an analysis of the garments, wardrobe holes, keepers, upcyclers, give-awayers right now. In other news, I sneezed once the other day, and now am congested. Hate that. No time for a cold.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 22, 2011 9:38 am

    gorgeous dahling! love the style :)

Leave a Reply

