Skip to content

Romper room

September 7, 2011

Summer is officially over here in the States, but I’m not ready to let go just yet. Chalk it up to saving my vacation to the very end. Or just dread that after lovely autumn, there’s another messy winter in the city waiting for me. Winter in the country is so much better. Whatever the case, I thought I’d share this last sun-kissed photo with you while I catch up with the online sewing world, my real-world sewing (I was right! R did birthday bombshell me!!!), Self-Stitched September, and prep for the Summit. Phew! Busy, busy. If I had bottomless pockets, this would also be on my list. Hopefully another moulage class will be coming my way soon.

I don’t know what came over me, but I threw caution to the wind, threw on this vintage romper and strutted right down to the shore. Yup, even wore it in the ocean. No, it’s not made my me. But it definitely looks hand made, and was in such excellent shape that I didn’t care if I’d ever wear it or not. It simply needed to be mine. I found it last summer, but this is apparently the summer of the playsuit. And just this weekend, I found a pattern for a similar set while cleaning out an old house.

Longing for endless summer.  Sigh…

Oh, on another note, how about this op ed in the Times today yesterday?! While the writer mainly focused on the kitchen arts, and I wholeheartedly agree, let’s bring back home ec for the sewing skills, too! How many people do you know that say “I can’t even sew on a button”? Really, a button? I know we all have our strengths, but a person should be able to whip up dinner from fresh veg, and manage a minute wardrobe issue, too. Just sayin’.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2011 11:42 am

    Love that romper.
    It feels like summer has finally arrived here! I’m sewing a pair of shorts in hopes that we have a few more weeks of good weather.

    • September 8, 2011 3:52 pm

      Maybe the warmth moved west? Labor Day came, and so did the rain :( I recommend these shorts for a quick, fun project!

  2. September 8, 2011 12:21 pm

    SASSY to the MAX

  3. Sheila D. permalink
    September 8, 2011 2:17 pm

    Happy, belated! I’m glad that you had a good time in sunny CA!

    Ummmm…watch out R, ’cause I’d tap that!
    Diggin’ the hat, too…adorbable!

    And I love exclamation points!

    • September 8, 2011 3:56 pm

      Thanks, babycakes ;) Mister Mister has some competition…teehee! We were in SC, actually, absolutely gorgeous, amazing weather, laid back, perfect. Hat? Another rad find from LL Bean a few years back. I will def check out Evening Primrose… have never heard of it :)

  4. Sheila D. permalink
    September 8, 2011 2:21 pm

    Hehe! Just noticed Cibo Matto, too! *squeeeee*
    ANNNNND…watch “Evening Primrose” on Netflix (if you haven’t already): I heart it and I’m singing “I Remember” for voice lessons right now. Tell me what you think.

  5. October 8, 2011 1:33 pm

    Umm, could this photo possibly be more amazing?!!! NO!!!!!!! Incredible playsuit and you look hot to trot. Hope you make that playsuit pattern next year. Anything appropriate in your stash? What with you not buying new fabric for a while and all xxx

    • October 12, 2011 10:03 am

      Aw, thanks Zoe! Now that is a challenge in thirds – sew a playsuit, use fabric from my stash (Ima have to dig around for that), and stay active enough during the winter so I can actually wear the thing in public. Ha!

Leave a Reply

