Skip to content

Creativity and the ego

August 13, 2011

At the beginning of this year, I pretty much stopped reading sewing blogs.  There were life circumstances that surely played a role, but I also found that my creativity and voice were drowning, as I logged time watching the exploits of others unfold.  I decided to take a break.  To simply “do”, and try not to worry about what every other sewing blogger had going on.  If you’ve come here from a link or comment on one of the amazingly talented bloggers out there, then you know I’m browsing again.  Catching up slowly with some of my favorite crushes.  The time off helped, the doing helped, and now I am feeling more creative energy than I have in ages.

I am a believer in the collective conscience.  I also believe that ideas are floating out there, in the ether.  They may come to us, and if we grab them, we reap the rewards.  If not, then some other lucky creative type will be blessed with a knock knock in the middle of the night.  I’m not talking about popular patterns, trends or general sewing chatter (though in some cases, that can be part of it… more often than not, in this digital age, those types of ideas are spread simply through re-posting, linking, marketing, etc.).

The reason for all this build up, is that I am feeling a bit frustrated as I sit here working on a new skirt.  This nagging thought keeps coming back to me, so I’m going to get it out.  Several weeks ago, I finally realized that one of my old favs, Sunni, had a new blog (old news, right?).  About last week, I finally gave it a quick visit, so that I could update my blog roll.  Yesterday, I thought it was about time I finally try to catch up with the goings on over at A Fashionable Stitch…  Wow!  Sunni has a shop!  Congrats on getting out of the secretarial gig (if you did quit your day job)!  Oh.  Shit.  Looks like we have a pretty similar post.

Now, R had been probing me about blogging for a week, and he finally said he was going to do it.  I wrote up a draft shout out post in a spare moment, waiting for him to hit “publish” for the first time.  When he did, I immediately followed with a “publish” of my own, a little thank you for everything, and congrats on bringing horseshoes to hipdom.  Looks like across the country, the eternal-goddess-of-the-cupcake was giving a similar shout out to her creative (and dutiful with the dishes ;) ) man.  Even if I had been inspired (by foresight?), this hardly constitutes copyright infringement.  I know that.  It is simply that now I’m browsing around again, it kinda stinks to see published work that is so similar to thoughts of mine.  From another vantage point, it’s not so bad.  More like a “yeah, right on!” moment… “our hubs are the shit!”  But not knowing someone outside the confines of the blogosphere, it’s difficult to judge their reaction to the situation.  Do I look like a paltry copycat in her eyes?  So, Sunni, if you ever do grace us over at threadsquare with your presence, know that all’s a coincidence.  The same sewing muse must have travelled east after visiting you.  I’ll be travelling west soon, and if you’re down for a tasty adult beverage, you know where to find me.  I’d love to toast the new (to me) haberdashery :)

Readers, let’s discuss.  Has this happened to you, on either side of the equation?  Were you flattered?  Did you think, “man, if only I’d acted sooner”?  Are we all tuned in to the same muses?  Am I a bit of a nutter for even believing in a muse?  Don’t answer that one ;)

ps- this reminds me… I never did finish the trouser sew-along Ms. S. hosted.  that needs to change.

UPDATE:  and it all comes full circlehi-larious!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2011 9:12 pm

    Lavender!!! Can I just say, I’m terribly glad to see you up and about the interwebs these days! You are such an amazing lady and brilliant sewist. I completely understand when one has to take breaks – believe me, I’ve been there. And I definitely believe in muses and in people across this globe thinking the same at the same time – and yes, our hubs are definitely “the shit.” In fact, mine is one too so we were definitely on the same wavelength even with wording. Ha ha ha!

    You are going to be in Salt Lake City!!!!!!!???????!!!!! What? No one ever comes here and I would love to meet up with you and take you to a favorite sewing haunt or two and yes please for a drink or two. Oh please say yes!

    • threadsquare permalink*
      August 14, 2011 6:35 am

      You are such a darling! The last thing I want to do on this humble little blog is step on anyone’s toes or foot pedal :) I felt so bad, so figured I’d just put it out there that no harm was intended. I’m soooo excited about SLC!!! It’s going to be wicked, as the yocals say. I’ve heard that it’s a beautiful city, and can’t wait to see for myself!!! Hopefully the conference has as many garment sewists as quilters, and I think it should, as Gertie is teaching a class. I will definitely duck out and hit the streets with you :D

  2. August 13, 2011 11:08 pm

    i will find you and hurt you if you stop posting.

    this HAS happened to me, and i had the same (albeit not so perfectly worded) thoughts when it did! i was sure i’d be considered a copycat. that was the reason behind my dear mrs balloona post (http://oonaballoona.blogspot.com/search?q=cisco)– well, actually, that was completely stolen from other bloggers. but i have indeed been working on a dress, or written a post to find that it’s already elsewheres at the at the same instant– for example, my post on how i started sewing and tilly’s on the same, unbeknownst to each other. i chalk it up to zeitgeist now and consider it cool, but i know what you mean.

    and i do think you’re a nutter. but i LIKES nutters.

    • threadsquare permalink*
      August 14, 2011 6:53 am

      Bahahahaha!!!!!!…. you know that skirt I said I was working on, while my obsessive, neurotic thoughts kept nagging and gnawing away? Well, um, it looks vaguely familiar now. I give up. No, not on blogging. I’m a little too addicted… threadsquare, I can’t quit you. But maybe this is how I learn to stop worrying and love the mind-meld-blogosphere. I guess we all have one of these moments? Y’all are way too fabulous, and yes, zeitgeist, the cutting edge!!! Oh, and I would have loved the fire engine red hem tap :)

Leave a Reply

