Skip to content

Friday fun day

August 12, 2011

That’s what one of the trainers likes to announce bright & early at boot camp. Twisted idea of fun? (Ssshh…I actually love boot camp.)  Mine may not have started off so fun, but boy did it end on a high note (and I don’t hear any singing; you know how that goes).  A walk in the sun is the best thing, so I did just that after work, taking the long way home to stop off at Goodwill.  I haven’t done any shopping in ages, including thrifting, but this was my lucky day.  With autumn sewing about to get under way, how could I pass up this beauty?

my hair should hurry up and grow.

Seriously, folks, it’s a Kors wool coat in a small hunter’s plaid.  For real.  Look at all that yardage just begging to be updated.  So much potential, and some might say it’s kinda fabulous just the way it is.

Imagine the reveal with this silk checked blouse worn beneath.  Though, I’ll refashion it somehow.  (Ideas?  Speak up.)  And those belts!  The stripey guy is grosgrain, the red leather, and I know just the cobbler to punch a few new holes in it for me.  I’m trying to get better at accessorizing.  I’m a bit of a minimalist.  Er, lazy.

But this, this is the clincher that made for a great day.  The jacket had a matching skirt!  And it fits!  Like a glove!  Okay, so I’m still wearing it as I type, and the lining (rayon) is a bit snug… no big lunches in this number.  But I can’t believe it.  I was envisioning some sort of chopping and slicing to make this work.  But I’d say it’s working, all right.

Oh, and on Wednesday, I came home from sewing club, having accomplished drinking wine and eating chocolate, to find my booty from beebolt’s little facebook contest had arrived.  Fabulous!  Looks like I’m not the only August-born chartreuse & peridot lover out there.  Thanks again, y’all :D

There were also asters and, um, more chocolate waiting for me.  But I waited a day on the chocolate ganache.  Good thing, because I have this wicked wool skirt the wear all autumn and into the winter.  Make my Vermont papa proud.

Now back to my regularly scheduled summer sewing.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2011 3:23 pm

    I love the polka dot shirt. I think it’d be great as is with the sleeves rolled up to your elbows and maybe tucked into a pencil skirt!

    • threadsquare permalink*
      August 15, 2011 10:16 am

      Good call! I’ll mostly likely leave the bones of this blouse alone, but can’t resist getting in there to do some nipping/tucking :)

Leave a Reply

