Skip to content

Mo’Tito’s for all

August 8, 2011

Darlings, I’m not going to even pretend that I’m a master mixologist.  And I certainly can’t toss the shaker around a la Cocktail.  Hell, I don’t even know if this drink already has a proper name in the annals of imbibing.  But I’m calling it a mo’Tito, and it was a hit a the Kalkatroona b-day throwdown this weekend.  In its simplest form, it’s a mojito…  swap vodka for rum, lime basil for mint.

For your summer drinking pleasure…

2 oz. Tito’s Handmade Vodka (use another if you must, but don’t call it a mo’Tito)

2 oz. club soda

2 tsp. confectioner’s sugar (more/less to taste)

2 tsp. fresh lime juice (I don’t measure… just squeeze two small wedges in there)

fresh lime basil

ice – crushed, cubed, whatever you’ve got (like I said, I’m no proper barkeep)

Toss some fresh basil leaves in a glass, add the sugar & lime juice and muddle with a spoon.  Get fancy with a muddler, if you must (that might be a hint for my mom to tell my stepdad that a muddler would make a fabulous birthday gift, mr. yankee workshop).  Add ice, then vodka, then club soda.  Stir gently.  Garnish with lime & basil.  Drink.  Make another. Relax. Smile.

See the world through lime-colored glasses.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2011 9:04 pm

    ON IT. seriously, i couldn’t believe you brought tito’s to the par-tay. tito’s is our favorite vodka.

    now i just have to find a way to grow some lime basil…

    • threadsquare permalink*
      August 9, 2011 12:34 pm

      It’s the Russophile in me combining forces with the former Austinite! I moved up here with a handle, just in case I couldn’t find any. If you find some in a grocer’s, try rooting a few leaves in a glass of water on a sunny windowsill, then planting in a pot…. it’s worked for me :)

Leave a Reply

