Skip to content

What’s almost as good as a trip on the Fung-Wah bus?

August 5, 2011

A virtual trip to the city, courtesy of darling Oona!

Either my brain is doing its job well, or is slacking off, because when I pulled this dress out from the closet post-boot camp, I had completely forgotten about Oona’s request for a virtual birthday party.  It wasn’t until I was merrily strolling from T to office that I realized just how fabulous fate played it –  I hadn’t tossed it aside for something different.  This isn’t exactly my “very most fabulous/wild/outrageous/lovely party outfit” that Ms. Kalkatroona demanded, but I managed to both remember and forget about the party.  Does that count?  Yes.

You see, I rarely wear this little number.  Not because I don’t like it, no, no… only due to some fit issues.  If you recall, mes amis, this sat half-finished for several years, until I decided last spring to get serious about sewing again.  And not give a damn about how weird blogging is, but post at will.  I feel so jaunty in heels and this flippy dress,  so it’s high time I re-work the collar.  The interfacing I used is just too stiff, and I neglected to interface the facing.  So all this weird pulling happens at the back of the neck.

Oona, here’s to you!  I’m raising a toast to a sewing maverick and fellow Leo, and making Tito’s with club soda & patio-grown lime basil for all who wish to imbibe.   Happy birthday, and happy weekend sewing :*

Mushka wouldn't miss a bash like this for all the pizza crust in NYC!!!

(side note: I almost used the word “frock” for the first time.  What a nice, alliterative ring it would have had with “flippy”.  But I can not stand that word.  No offense to any seamster out there who employs it; the word simply isn’t for me.  Okay, mini-rant over.  Get back to that cocktail.)

Kiss, kiss.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2011 4:07 am

    Cheers! I rad your comment on my copy of the dress you’re wearing and thought – it would be great to march together across the streets wearing the matching dresses! Yours looks great! I had issues with mine, too, but managed to fix them. If I was to sew it again, I would trace the dress a size smaller…

    • threadsquare permalink*
      August 6, 2011 7:47 am

      I agree… a size smaller would be so much better. In fact, I have a ton of that fabric left, so when I’m done with a few other items, I might just re-do this :D

  2. Jennifer Marsh-Crowe permalink
    August 6, 2011 8:09 pm

    Boo – you & Mushka look somewhat green in the final photo, wondered if there was toooo much birthday celebrating there, be honest, I won’t tell mom, lol

    • threadsquare permalink*
      August 7, 2011 6:16 am

      I’ll let the photographer speak for himself ;)

  3. August 6, 2011 10:11 pm

    Sadly, the fabric shopping in RI is mostly limited to, you guessed it! JoAnns. How sad that a once great textile leader is thus reduced. The only other fabric store (unless you count one shelf of quilting fabric in Blaine’s, our sewing machine shop) is Lorraine Fabrics. It is in what used to be Lorraine Mills, but now it is all odds and ends bolts from NYC which are sold on the second floor for $1.99/yd (usually nothing good but I’ve gotten a velvet once) and pretty much what they sell at the JoAnns. Although, to be fair their Home Dec section is HUGE. I just don’t sew home dec.

    • threadsquare permalink*
      August 7, 2011 6:19 am

      That’s so disappointing :( I was so psyched when I moved here, thinking I’d finally have an actual garment district to explore. Unfortunately, Boston is pretty much the same. There are a few gems remaining, but even Fabric Place closed within my first year here.

  4. August 8, 2011 8:59 am

    girl i forgot to ask you if i could use your pic in my linky party post! i hope you don’t mind… it’s totally linked & credited back to you… erm, blame it on the vodka coated basil?

    • threadsquare permalink*
      August 8, 2011 10:34 am

      Hellz no! This was off the rails fun, and I’m only now recovering from the recap!

Leave a Reply

