Skip to content

Rush for a change of atmosphere

August 2, 2011

Please excuse the back to back text-heavy, garment-less posts.  Exciting life things are happening, yet they kept me from my machine this weekend.  I did fix the hem on my MTM dress, and it looks perfect.  Phew!  All it needed was unpicking, pressing, and turning up again. The silk was allowed to hang naturally, and the raw edge of it was still fully enclosed in the fold.  I don’t think it will bunch over time, so hopefully that won’t be a problem.

The real excitement is this:  I am going to the Sewing Summit!!!  Did you hear that?  All registered & classes booked.  I can’t believe it.  And at the same time, I’ll admit to a twinge of anxiety.  Travelling alone?  Pshaw.  This is the girl who packed her bag for a year in Russia, with only a 3 month visa in her back pocket.  Meeting new people?  Nah.  I’ll chat up strangers on a train, have a good tongue wag with friends, and am also comfortable just sitting back and observing.  It’s the whole networking aspect.  I hate that word, and what it conjures up in my mind’s eye.  Business types exchanging cards (sorry, unable to imbed video) a-la-Bret Easton Ellis, sizing each other up, not really listening in a conversation, but looking over your shoulder to see if there’s someone they should really be talking to.

It even has a watermark.

I know, I know…  the summit will be a bit more relaxed than that.  Hell, I hope a lot more!  But that’s part of it too, ya know.  And maybe I should just keep in mind that networking is really simply talking.  And I can talk.  Ha!

So, here’s to branching out, Salt Lake City, big love, ch-ch-ch-ch-changes.  The biggest of which will come in 12 weeks.  There, I sort of said it.  Now I’ll keep you guessing.

I was hoping to have a hot little number to wear and share for tonight’s Big Audio Dynamite show, but it will have to wait.  Feeling a little under-accomplished about that.  Yet the frustration of having to redo a previous project is over, and there are loads of ideas and projects in the near-near future.  Today begins the Rooibos sew-along, too!

Rock out.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2011 11:28 am

    lol, I hadn’t even thought about networking until I read your post – you’re right though, it’s a good opportunity. Now I’m nervous! :)

    • threadsquare permalink*
      August 2, 2011 11:34 am

      Oh no! Don’t let my crazy imagination get the best of you :)

  2. Sheila D. permalink
    August 3, 2011 6:11 pm

    Is it going to be bittersweet in 12 weeks?!!!

    I’ve never seen American Psycho! I’m a wuss when it comes to gore…is it bad?
    That scene is hilarious and really makes me want to suck it up and see it! :D

    • threadsquare permalink*
      August 4, 2011 10:54 am

      My lips are sealed ’til then ;) Yes! You should totally see it, or at least read the book! There is blood, but it’s also pretty comical.

Leave a Reply

