Skip to content

Easy does it

July 18, 2011

lunchtime daydreaming

Some quickie photos for a quickie blouse.  It’s horseshoe night, and I really want to post this and get busy with some other things, so no fancy-pants photo shoot.  Seriously, readers… if you’ve never met R and me in person, and all you had to go on was that he plays horseshoes and I sew clothes and do other crafty things, wouldn’t you just assume we’re a retired couple twice our age?

I borrowed this pattern from Sarah at Grey’s Fabrics (haven’t I mentioned how great she is?), and like the envelope states, it’s very easy.  Crazy, stupendously easy.  No wonder she’s making a new version every time I blink.

when Vogue says easy, they mean it

This used up just one yard of this bright & beautiful, ikat-esque, polyester crinkle chiffon I found out in California on a visit to my bestie’s.  I love wearing next to nothing on these hot days we’ve been having (and I’m looking forward to a beach holiday soon), but still want to look put together.  Though at first the blousy, loose look of this didn’t appeal to me, I think it’s more flattering than expected.  No alterations, and I winged it by cutting a size 6.  I never cut so small a size, but this gave finished bust measurements, so I thought it safe.  (In other news, all this exercising has left me feeling great, but the twins… don’t leave me!)  Actually, scratch that – I made one alteration, by opening up the back slit a few inches, just to make certain I could pull this on, and thus pull off such a fast project.

I’m pretty darned pleased with this, considering how quickly it came together, and how sweltering my apartment has been to sew in.  The seams are French, and the hems are rolled with a serger.  I serged the sleeve hems prior to  sewing the seam & inserting them, so as not to deal with tucking the serger tails.

There’s a small mistake at the right shoulder, but I don’t think it’s too visible.  It’s more that I can feel it – the armscye is a little snug, and it’s because the shoulder width there is slightly narrower than the other side.  All due to not being ultra-careful with this flimsy fabric’s straight grain.  Love wearing chiffon, fine sewing it, hate cutting it (and yeah, I was too lazy for the tissue trick).  For all my talk of being a perfectionist, I am totally fine with this.

It’s fun to challenge one’s self, but it’s also so very rewarding to dash something off that is still nicely made.  I’ll be sewing up a few more of these, and might just lengthen it into a little dress.  Huzzah!

Oh, and if you’ve ever pondered the “now playing” section on the upper right of my blog, it really is what I’m listening to now.  And right now I can’t stop listening to Forget by Twin Shadow.  Like when I’d crack open a new album that came in the mail (I grew up in a small town, I had to order my music from BMG & Columbia House), listen to it on repeat while laying on my bedroom floor.  I love this that much.  No lying down… this calls for dancing.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jill permalink
    July 19, 2011 9:10 am

    very very pretty, off to listen to Twin Shadow since I’ve never heard…

    • threadsquare permalink*
      July 19, 2011 9:15 am

      Thanks, Jill! I hope you like TS…they (he) will be in Austin in the next few months :)

  2. July 26, 2011 6:10 am

    I’m a huge fan of the fabric!
    Got my office/sewing room a little more decluttered yesterday. You’re inspiring me, lady! Now if all the other administrative projects I’ve gotten myself into would taper off…hmmm.

    • threadsquare permalink*
      July 26, 2011 6:51 am

      Fabulous! You’ll be sewing like mad soon, and outsourcing all the admin projects to the girls :P

Leave a Reply

