Skip to content

In the works

June 16, 2011

Here are three fabric/pattern combos I’m thinking of next.  Honesty counts, so spill…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cotton pique, and a little twee and flowery for my typical tastes.  But I must have been drawn to it for some reason when I picked it up few years ago.  Maybe the juxtaposition of dainty would suit this uncut 70s pattern with the peek-a-boo neckline?  This pattern looks like a quick win & pretty easy to put together.  It will be my first vintage (non-reproduction) pattern, and I love the way they’re set up so far.  (On a side note, this would make a great LBD! But I’m trying to use up my stash before buying more)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Another loud, decade spanning pattern/print combo (sans pocket, of course).  I’ve been dying to make this dress, and love staring at this ridiculously fun crinkled polyester chiffon.  I bought it on the cheap in California this spring, along with some other wonderful finds.  Would this be wearing too much of a good thing?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And in a completely different direction, I love this knit, and am thinking of doing it up in the dress on the left.  Below is the technical drawing, as the deets are pretty difficult to decipher.  I don’t have much yardage, so this idea may have to get scrapped if matching the design is a no-go.  I originally had the top from Hot Patterns (below, left) in mind.  Stick to original plan, or go with the knit dress?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Help a sister out. xoxo

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2011 10:17 am

    I think all your choices are good. I vote for the knit dress which lingered on my To Be Sewn list until I forgot about it completely. Sewing ADD is so hard, isn’t it?

    • threadsquare permalink*
      June 17, 2011 11:49 am

      Sewing ADD…I love it! Knit dress it is (that’s what happens when you’re number one!).

  2. June 17, 2011 12:25 pm

    Yay! I was going to say knit dress…HAWT!

  3. June 21, 2011 2:39 pm

    Oooh, I just bought that first pattern off ebay! Spooky! I hadn’t thought of making it in black but now that’s exactly what I want to do. I’m not buying new fabric either, so I’ll have to pray to the fabric gods to deliver me somethng suitable. The title of your most recent post cracked me up, BTW. Happy sewing, lady xxx

    • threadsquare permalink*
      June 21, 2011 8:36 pm

      Whoa! That pattern was either in my mom’s sewing room for decades, or from a lot I snagged at a yard sale last summer. Methinks trans-Atlantic little black 70’s dresses are a must! Maybe the fabric gods will make a pit stop here?

Leave a Reply

