Skip to content

What is this store?

June 13, 2011

A few weeks ago, R and I went down to Newbury St on an errand. I’m not a huge shopper, but I suppose it’s good to cross the river every once in a while. Anyway, we were done with the semi-crowded streets and heading back to the T when I saw this:

Pretty amazing collection, and I immediately needed to know what would happen to those gorgeous machines once they became washed-up models. I stepped in and asked the nearest sales clerk, but she just gave me an odd look and said the display will never change. Mwah-ha-ha!

I felt so dejected.  While beautiful, it’s sad that deserving sewists everywhere won’t be able to snag these off craigslist, ebay, garage sales or from Aunt Edna’s parlor.

I have no clue what the store was. I’m sure it’s overpriced and sprouting up at a trendy shopping district near you. I’m also certain a cursory search on the old interwebs would bring a result. Yet I’m only concerned with the display, not what’s behind it. (But if you have the answer, do tell….)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Sheila D. permalink
    June 15, 2011 3:17 pm

    http://www.allsaints.com/ – I googled it! ;)

    I love that display, too!

    • threadsquare permalink*
      June 15, 2011 3:57 pm

      i’s lazy :) what was that i said about overpriced? maybe i’ll just riff off some of the items. ha!

  2. June 17, 2011 12:23 pm

    Eh…lazy-schmazy. I’ve passed it a bunch of times always wondering the same thing. I never bothered to find out the name of the store OR if the machines would be up for sale, etc. You get an “A” for effort in my book! ;)

  3. June 21, 2011 2:43 pm

    All saints Spitalfields, oh wait, I just saw someone already got there first! All their stores seem to have the same display, with the exception of the one I saw in an airport!

    xx

Leave a Reply

