Skip to content

Pressed for time

March 5, 2011

Don’t you just hate sewing puns?

In classic fashion, I had high hopes for myself in thinking I’d be able to whip up the perfect vacation dress…the day before vacation. Ha! What a jokester. Not only did I need to finish up gifts for my bestie’s daughters, I’d have to make a muslin. Also, I’ll admit to not being the speediest sewist. Thinking I’d save some time by using a pattern with fewer pieces and an easier rating than originally planned, I set out. But then there’s bias. I forgot about the whole “hang 24 hours” for bias cuts. Important step, and not to be skipped. Unless you want to chance your hips fitting into a skirt piece that’s magically narrower than when you started. Not with these hips, honey ;) At least the deadline forced me to make a decision regarding what pattern to use for this Anna Sui fabric. I found it for a steal a year or two ago, and have been loathe to cut into it. For this very reason, I don’t want to hurry. I’m so in love with this print, and it deserves my full attention. Not a hasty, slap-dash stitching session.

Luckily, I don’t think I’ll need to make any adjustments after a trial muslin fit. If so, that’s a first for me! So here’s a sneak peek at my vacation-from-my-vacation dress. And the gifts I can’t wait to give!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mommie permalink
    March 7, 2011 9:42 pm

    Wow!!! Just love these fabrics. Looking forward to seeing what the finished products look like. If IO was supposed to be able to view them, I didn’t seem to be able to. Hope the vacation goes well. Goodnight Sweetie,Mommie

Leave a Reply

