Skip to content

Confession

May 13, 2010

This is a pretty embarrassing admission from someone who, while not an expert, has been sewing for years. Are you ready for it? It’s really racy. Here goes.

I usually have the wrong presser foot on my machine. I can hear the gasping, feel the the spray of soup/coffee/tea through the screen. The horror!

And the thing is, I know it. I just forgettaboutit until I happen to, well, notice. It’s never resulted in major mishaps, or anything. Last night I was running a couple of jersey scraps through my machine in preparation for a little sewing get-together I’m having with my dear friend. I haven’t sewn jersey in a while, and wanted to make sure I could just start right off the bat on Saturday without fiddling too much in the needle, tension, stitch, presser foot department. And I also wanted to see if I could get away without running around trying to find a Teflon foot at the last minute. My “regular” foot and standard stitch worked just fine, but I did a couple of runs with the manual’s recommended stretch stitch (didn’t like the results) and foot, just to be sure. Manual suggests the satin stitch foot that came with the machine for jersey, and I said “Oooh, let me try that! Maybe I don’t need a Teflon foot!”

Thing is, I’ve been using the satin stitch foot for, say, months now. (Except when inserting a zipper, of course.) And I know I’ve realized this in the past. Doh! So there it is. Caught with my slip showing, or, dare I say, my foot in my mouth? Oh, the corniness of sewing jokes.

Photo shoot tonight of my April garment.

PS – I’m totally counting the slip I made for my February garment as my March garment. Not laziness, no. I (sort of) think it’s justifiable, and I don’t want to get all stressed about being behind. Onward.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2010 11:26 am

    Ahahahaha! You’re so silly. I didn’t notice…I didn’t even know there were so many needles!

    I can’t WAIT to see the April garment AND I totally agree that the slip can count. It’s not laziness for the EXACT reason you mentioned. Right? No. perfectionism.

    I want to make this with this. I’m afraid of binding though!

    P.S. For some reason Reader isn’t picking up your new posts! I gasped when I saw there were 2 or 3 that I hadn’t read!

    • threadsquare permalink*
      May 17, 2010 2:42 pm

      Reader doesn’t like us :( So weird…it won’t even let me subscribe to you. Don’t be afraid of binding. My mom’s the pro, but I don’t think it’s all that bad, especially if you use cotton instead of something slippery. And stop showing me new places to buy fabric! Actually, don’t stop…those are so pretty!!! Gopherit.

Leave a Reply

