Skip to content

Robert Rauschenberg

May 13, 2008

“Anything you do will be an abuse of somebody else’s aesthetics. I think you’re born an artist or not. I couldn’t have learned it. And I hope I never do because knowing more only encourages your limitations.”

I cut and pasted that little, yet magnificent, quote from this article. I’ve never written a post here (I hate the word blog, and all its forms) at work, but couldn’t help myself today as I came to the end of the obit. One of my favorite artists; I’ve read that line before. Yet today, sitting here under fluorescent lights at my little desk (at least it’s not a cubicle, and at least I like my co-workers), it stung a bit. I’ll admit it. Because I’ve been daydreaming lately about those wonderful college years when creativity was coming from all sides, even in the times it wasn’t. Just this morning, as I was brushing my teeth, drying my hair, I had a sneaking suspicion: while I always thought it would be okay to have a day/office/desk job to support other, more creative endeavors, I now realize that creativity breeds its own. In other words, doing will make you do more. Creative processes beget more creativity. In other words, am I not the artist I thought I was born, if only because I’ve managed to have the day job overtake me time and again? Does art school encourage limitations, mainly an increased amount of cynicism?

I’d really like to skip out early. I wonder if anyone would notice.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

