Skip to content

Fake wood = affaires réelles

April 27, 2008

It’s been beautiful here lately…warmer weather, daylight that begins before I roll out of bed and ends after I get home from work, streets lined with blossoming trees. Some of them are magnolias, but the main drag nearest to me is full of these white blooms that look so surreal against an evening azure sky, snowy puffs while I jaunt along in my tee. And! I made my first sale on Etsy! By none other than Etsy Labs, themselves. They wanted to deck out their new craft studio space with some faux bois accessories, and asked if I’d make a custom order. After what seemed like the slowest shipment in FedEx history from a supplier (who will remain unnamed, yet most likely never used again), I finally received all of the necessary materials. Here’s the final product:

(For some reason the images look fuzzy until I open them in a stand-alone window. Strange. Because they look great in Photoshop, and the file size is sufficient. Oh, WordPress!)

Etsy Labs wanted mint green on the bottom and a wood panel look for the sides, the idea being that stacked up, they’ll look like a stump. Maybe once broken in and not so puffy it will register, but right now, I think they just look fun. I love this Joel Dewberry fabric, and think I’ll send some to Mummy for the art quilt she’s working on…perfect for all of the bark in it. Speaking of bark, Mushka is trying to tell me something. She just ate, so I’m pretty sure I know what it is. Maybe we should’ve named her Laika after all (it means “barker”).

One Comment leave one →
  1. mom permalink
    July 29, 2008 2:32 am

    Wow and double wow! they look great. I ceretainly won’t cry if i should be lucky enough to receive a piece of this beautiful fabric. lol ;) love,mommie

Leave a Reply

