Skip to content

Happy IWD…a day late

March 9, 2008

I can always count on my friend, Jerome, to send me and e-card on International Women’s Day, and this year it was in Russian! We taught at the same lyceum several years ago in Velikiy Novgorod. Although our correspondence has been spotty since (I’ll take the blame), he never fails. I really need to post him this package I’ve been carrying around from apartment to apartment….

Sometimes a little, okay – a lot of, rain is just what I need. And boy did we get some rain this weekend. It all started on Friday night, right around the time SXSW was gearing up, and I was wondering what the hell I’m doing in Somerville. Ryan and I found a little Mexican joint nearby that was decent (better than expected) and had Lone Star behind the bar. It soothed a bit, fanned my fire of longing a bit. But by early afternoon Saturday, that fire was well put out after wandering around Boston and Cambridge in wellies and puddles. Not that I no longer miss Austin. I just remembered that I should enjoy the present, no matter where it is. Getting out the house and sloshing into hole in the wall, magical eateries was enough to sate me for a while.

This weekend, er, Sunday, was devoted to wrapping up some older projects before moving on to other things. I changed the hip curve on a skirt that I made a while ago from a fantastic Donna Karan wool. Now the garment deserves such great fabric! Still need to fix the waistband on a pair of jeans I started ages ago. I made my niece this bag for her 18th birthday. Did I say 18th? Yeah…don’t even go there! She likes pink, and hopefully she doesn’t read this blog (yet). Pink, but not too pink, eh?

_mg_0159.jpg

_mg_0161.jpg

And I got really frustrated with WordPress. Ryan’s sleuthing and patience, followed by my basic html skills, finally solved the problem, but I still insist there are too many like-named options when customizing one’s blog. Mine is far from highly-customized, though I will get there. I keep going back to this passage in Catching the Big Fish, because it verbalized a creative frustration I’d been having for a few years:

It’s crucial to have a setup, so that, at any given moment, when you get an idea, you have the place and the tools to make it happen. If you don’t have a setup, there are many times when you get the inspiration, the idea, but you have no tools, no place to put it together. And the idea just sits there and festers. Over time, it will go away. You didn’t fulfill it–and that’s just a heartache.

Finally, I have my own humble little setup. Humble in that my space is a shared office/creative den, and that Peaches (that’s my computer) is shared between Ryan and I, so we often need to kick each other off. However, it’s still a setup. I don’t have to move either of my sewing machines in order to eat dinner. I don’t have to drag plastic totes from under the bed in order to find fabric. Upgrading to an industrial machine will be oh-so-nice. As will not working a day job. Like I said before, though, I do need to remember to enjoy the present.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. threadsquare permalink*
    March 10, 2008 8:25 am

    I just noticed that on Internet Explorer (I’m at work…sshhh..and I use Firefox at home) my blog is all misaligned and looks awful. However, it looks just dandy on Firefox. Help, anyone!?

  2. mom permalink
    March 13, 2008 6:53 pm

    hi sweetie.how awesome is your creation!!!!! my goodness. i am so very pleased to see you expressing yourself in a median that i enjoy too.
    keep up the great work with this and the other arts that you enjoy.
    love you lots,mommie ;0;0:):):)

Leave a Reply

