Skip to content

Stitch One

January 9, 2008

self.jpg

My dog trainer had a great way of explaining the canine mind. If Mushka, or any other pup, was getting into something she shouldn’t, chewing on a shoe or furniture, it was simply because she was unemployed. Mushka had found a job for herself because I wasn’t providing adequate employment. She had become self-employed.

Today marks the two month anniversary of my departure from Austin, and no adequate work has been offered to me despite all the tricks this girl has performed. So self-employment it is.

The universe has been working me toward this path, or maybe I have been working toward it. Creeping, really. For quite some time. And now I’m seeing more and more nudges and a few downright shoves. Whether these clues are more apparent simply because I’m already seeking is irrelevant. It’s working, just the same.

Like the fortune from my first Chinese at Wang’s. And the sign out my window. I took a photo of it, merely liking its warmly lit radiance on an azure sky, and the cheekiness of its message, winking behind my neighbors’ house. But maybe there’s more to it? I also recently began a modest inquiry into meditation and a more academic study of the branches of yoga. All involve diving into the Self. I digress.

So this is my attempt at self-sufficiency. I am excited and have a ton of nervous energy. Firstly, I need to gather resources (fabric and other textile-y things), develop an efficient production system, and figure out my way around Word Press. It’s still a little foreign. So stay tuned….there will be a logo, product photos, and an Etsy shop in the very near future!

Oh yeah, and the product?! Let’s just say your furry friends will be pleased.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Natalie permalink
    January 9, 2008 5:41 pm

    Hey Lavender!

    I just read your blog and I loved it! I didn’t know you had a knack for writing! We also share a kinship with the idea of making dog accessories! I recently started researching how to make some nice but “Hip” doggie collars. I made one for my sweet KO (the Boxer) in an island theme and he looked so handsome in it. People commented on it all the time. The only thing was I didn’t have a doggie fastener so I pinned it with a safety pin!

    Maybe we can share trade secrets or help each other. I always hoped we would have time to have a little sewing circle. I am also making some doggie blankies out of my scrap fabric and will be giving them to the rescue I got Buster from recently.

    So anyway, I just wanted to give a shout and congratulate you and wish you the best. Let me know if I can help.

    Natalie

  2. threadsquare permalink*
    January 9, 2008 5:57 pm

    Thanks Natalie! I know…it’s a shame we never started up an after-hours studio in the SHB! And you just might be able to help. If the local foam people don’t pull through, I want to get in touch with that Austin company. Still have their number? Could you email it to me?

  3. Natalie permalink
    January 10, 2008 10:06 am

    Yes, their name is Capital City Upholstery, 512-326-9968.

    I also saw these and thought I’d send it to you:

    http://www.cdwplus.com/

    http://www.2houndsdesign.com/

  4. Ryan permalink
    January 13, 2008 3:19 pm

    Congratulations!! Now I don’t have to say ‘Get on the stick’ anymore… right? I can’t wait to see your next bow-wow boudoir.

  5. Sarah permalink
    January 16, 2008 2:13 pm

    Woohoo! I’m so excited for you!! If the diaper bag, pillow and purses you’ve made for me in the past are any indication, your stuff is going to ROCK! I can’t wait to see some of it! We should keep an eye out for textile trade shows. I would TOTALLY go to one with you. If I can help in any way, let me know. I’ll talk to my dad too. My step mother does branding design for people. She helps them design their logo, name, image, etc. Maybe she could offer some advice?? I’ll let you know. XOXO!!

Leave a Reply

