Skip to content

Spoiled Sweet

August 15, 2012

Awesome shot, Ry! Don’t worry, I didn’t lose a tooth on the hike – that’s just my zipper pull :)

Before packing up the car for a week in NH, I made certain to write up this blog post, take photos for a separate post and file them away on my phone, and snugly fit good intentions into my bag. All my good intentions and energy instead went straight into caring for my dad – I was giving my mom a long overdue, well-deserved holiday. It was a fantastic, exhausting, happy, sad, funny and difficult week. One with very little time for sewing, reading or writing, and ultimately tough decisions to be made. Don’t worry, I let off a little steam with another fabulous hike at the end of the week. Ryan and I each grew up near our state’s respective highest peaks. I’ve been up Katahdin a few times with him, but I’d never taken him up Mt. Washington. (He’d been on the summit as a young lad, via the auto road. Pfft. Wait, so have I.) Possible thunderstorms in the forecast for Saturday (Mt. Wash is not a place you want to be in bad weather), we delayed a day by hiking a local hill to find buckets of blackberries. And fresh bear scat. We emptied our Nalgenes, picked quickly with ears pricked and eyes alert, then wandered home. Ry’s drive up to NH to meet me paid off in full Sunday. I love the trail we went up, which follows a ravine and waterfalls. And although the summit was crowded with tourists, we reveled in having a clear day up top. Two drops of rain on the exposed descent trail, followed by a quick dip in the icy mountain runoff along the base road, washed away all the sweat and blisters of the past six hours. Sports bra and hiking bikinis make for a totally suitable bathing suit in the wild.

So, yeah. Spoiled by nature. And spoiled by friends. Here is my original post:

Boy am I spoiled. In fact, I don’t even deserve the goodies given to me recently. I mean, really guys, how many FOs have I posted lately? On second thought, don’t answer that. A couple weeks ago, I discovered this gem of a box on my stoop. Ooo-eeee! All the way from Californ-i-a! My bestie Sarah sent me a box of fabric, full of awesomeness like striped swimsuit lycra, blue gingham, wide green seersucker. And Marimekko. Vintage Marimekko. Girl probably heard my delight from this coast. I’ve never splurged on every seamster’s favorite Finn fabric, but have come very close. THANK YOU S-bear, and thank you GW… amazing taste! I’m not certain what I’m going to do with it – the pieces are small – but maybe a home dec project.

Then, just a few days later, I got together with my other bestie, Sheila. As I was pulling out of the drive, she came running down in the dark yelling something, and plunged this in my hands. My greedy little hands. Oh boy!!! Inside the case for the book was an unused fitting shell pattern. Yes, please and THANK YOU. It’s a size 8, which I think might be a bit too small of a starting point, but I’m gonna give it whirl. I’ve said it before, but I’d really like to have a shell/sloper/moulage/whatever so that I can simply build from that foundation block. Kenneth King is teaching a moulage course nearby in October, but it’s way out of my budget.

Super huge shout out to my double S team – you both truly are the best. For many more reasons that gifts. Them’s just a perk :)

A Nordic aside: did anyone else notice in the new IKEA catalogue that they are now selling a sewing machine? It’s really basic, and probably pretty crappy. However, that’s still pretty exciting. Sewing has been in the news a few times lately, and the more press the better. Wocka wocka.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2012 11:20 am

    That IS a great photo! We are planning a long-overdue nature adventure this Saturday and I couldn’t be more excited – yours sounds like good times! :) Getting outside and running around like little kids is always good for the soul ^__^

    And congrats on your awesome gifts! Especially that book with an UNUSED pattern! Holy toledo, that’s a good find! ^__^ Happy reading! (and sewing) One day I’d like to make a sloper too… it’ll be good to see how you get on with it :)

    • August 15, 2012 1:49 pm

      Get out there and get dirty! I’ve totally reconnected with my love of climbing mountains lately. It just feels right to me.

      Exactly… one day. I aim to make the sloper sooner, rather than later, but I’m concerned about needing hand holding. Ha! UsuallyI don’t want ANY assistance, other times, I just want someone to walk me through :)

      • August 15, 2012 2:20 pm

        Oh I totally hear ya… I’ve always preferred learning by falling down and picking myself back up over actually LISTENING to someone else’s wisdom LOL

  2. August 15, 2012 12:37 pm

    What fun you had hiking – your jumping photos is just so adorable! Getting outside and back to nature is so refreshing. It really grounds me and brings me back to life.

    Congrats on your gifts. You’re right that you’re one lucky gal :)

    • August 15, 2012 1:50 pm

      Same here. I’ve let that part of me fall aside a bit too much in recent years. But if I’m true to myself, I am happiest in lakes, rivers and on mountains :D

  3. August 16, 2012 2:06 pm

    Ikea sewing machine was reviewed here – http://www.ikatbag.com/2012/04/ikeas-new-sewing-machine.html
    Might be OK for the first-time sewist who is nervous about spending >$100 on a machine.

  4. August 18, 2012 6:51 pm

    What a great photo! And how lovely of you to give your mom some time away. I’m sure she really appreciated it!

    Can’t wait to see what you make (whenever you have time to get back to sewing)!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

