Skip to content

mark as read

July 27, 2012

Survive! the climb up the mountain.

Fight! the urge to return to the screen as entertainment.

Liberate! yourself from the chair.

Mark this post as read. Get up and get out. It’s a very rebellious act for a blogger. One I highly recommend.

(because this is primarily a sewing blog, here’s a little something i found in my pack while gathering supplies for the weekend: a self-designed & sewn pair of ripstop nylon rain pants, circa 1998. look at that gusset. yeah, i’m that cool.)

 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2012 3:45 pm

    Lovely. Beautiful pics. I’m feeling encouraged–I haven’t gotten to sew the last two weeks, but I will be outdoors tomorrow, and that’s a great thing. I hope to have some photos to show for it too :)

    • July 30, 2012 5:30 pm

      Outdoors IS a great thing! I know it takes away from sewing & blogging & reading blogs, but it’s good for my soul :) Hope you enjoyed it!

  2. writer77 permalink
    July 27, 2012 3:55 pm

    Some of the best photos I’ve seen of Katahdin. I was there in 1985 on a southbound A.T. trek. Thanks for the memories and grand views!

    • July 30, 2012 5:33 pm

      Aw, thank you! It was my second time on summit, fourth on the mountain. The last time we were there, we discovered an injured man starting a southbound thru (both shoulders dislocated on the rocks on Hunt), and initiated a rescue. So intense! I’d love to hear more about your thru-hike! It’s been a dream of mine that was sparked again with this hike.

  3. aviewintomyworld permalink
    July 27, 2012 4:05 pm

    Love that top pic of you and you’re spot on which is why my blog has been as quiet as yours :-)

    • July 30, 2012 5:34 pm

      I’m glad to know I’m not the only one :) Feel kinda guilty community-wise, but I need to be outside if given a choice.

  4. July 27, 2012 5:40 pm

    Yes! I do try to get out and about-went riding in the arena last night and tomorrow will take the horses on a trail ride to Spencer Creek (Oregon, USA). Thanks for the beautiful pics.

    • July 30, 2012 5:36 pm

      Ooh, that sounds lovely! I have such a respect for horses, though I’ve never spent a ton of time with them. Now you’ve got me singing that Cowboy Junkies song… “I’ve got a horse out in the country… ” :)

  5. July 28, 2012 12:19 pm

    Soooo beautiful! And I completely agree.

    • July 30, 2012 5:37 pm

      You must have some even more beautiful scenery now, girl! You chose another gorgeous place to live. I’m moving in!

  6. July 29, 2012 2:32 pm

    Gorgeous photo up there. Where is this stunning place?. Hehe, most of my outdoors activities at the moment consist of battling mosquitoes while I water the garden. Or chasing border collies with a hose. But it’s soooo much cooler than last summer so I feel much less trapped. Internet vacations are so freeing!

    • July 30, 2012 5:42 pm

      It’s Katahdin, in Baxter State Park, Maine, end (or beginning, if you’re a southbound hiker) of the AT. My husband grew up nearby, so we’re up in the area a lot. We hadn’t climbed the mountain in ages, and decided to fix that quick snap! I suddenly realized just how much time I spend online, and in the past, I’d be doing stuff like this.

      You should make the most stylish mosquito net dress ever seen. That would be an awesome photo shoot!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 110 other followers

