Skip to content

Can You Hear Me Now? – an exhibit

May 22, 2012

Hey guys and gals, I’m pretty psyched about this news. Three of my photographs were chosen for this exhibit in southern Maine. I don’t know if there are any Mainers (Mainiacs) out there, or any other New England residents for that matter, but if you’re in the neighborhood, pop on in :) I’m sure it’s pretty low-key. In fact, the casual nature of the exhibit was what spurred me to enter a submission – a kind of soft way of trying to get back in there. The gallery has opted to print everyone’s work (weird), so hopefully the quality looks good. I got the news while I was in NH over the weekend, and needed to submit print files before I’d make it back home. So, a little phone photoshoppery fun with Ry ensued, and I wasn’t able to see his test prints in person. That man is amazing. Anywho, a road trip to Maine for lobster rolls, oysters, beer & photography never hurt anyone. Except the lobster.

***FUNNY UPDATE***

In wordpress, once a post is published, you get this little sidebar congratulating you on a post, and a little tea bag line of encouragement. This is what I saw after hitting publish just now:

Stephen King. Maine. Get it. I’m a dork.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2012 9:23 pm

    Neat! Passing this on to my sis who lives in S. Berwick.

  2. May 23, 2012 2:50 am

    Yey, Maine! I love it there. I’m living with a Mainah, but I really really also want to be one. Minus the lobster, they can keep swimming, um, crawling.

    How cool that you’ll be in an exhibit! Congratulations, and I hope you have a lovely trip up there for it!

    • May 23, 2012 8:08 am

      Give your roomie a big “ayuh” :) I get creeped out sometimes when people eat lobster & they’re crazy messy, and I cried the first time I was present for them being put in the pot. But give me a crusty bread, a crustacean & some butter… mmm! My husband’s a Mainer and we used to live in Portland. I wish we could afford a coastal home…

      • May 23, 2012 3:10 pm

        Aww… I know, I’ve been so taken with Maine, which makes sense since it’s really similar to my home (Norway). Which helps my Mainer now that we’re living here in Norway – he especially likes that we have a view of the ocean (well, harbour) from our apartment. But Portland always feels like home when we visit, and I love going out to Peaks Island on the ferry and pretending we could have a cottage there.

  3. May 23, 2012 3:37 am

    Awesome! Congratulations on the real world publication! Also lobster…nom

    • May 23, 2012 8:10 am

      Thanks!!! It’s totally minor, but just the small step I needed :)

  4. May 23, 2012 8:40 am

    Congratulations!! Thats great news! Would love to see some images of the show or your work when you get a chance.

    • May 23, 2012 9:09 am

      Well, if I get my ass in gear, I’ll have a website soon :)

      btw, I AM jealous of that ikat. It’s gorgeous.

  5. May 23, 2012 9:24 am

    Yeeeeeeaaah! Congrats, girl! How exciting! I’m so jealous of the Maine folks– would LOVE to live there (just gotta talk the hubs into it, although he loves cool weather and lobster, so not sure what the holdup is)! Although not sure how much the locals would enjoy an energetic, chatty, midwestern/Californian/New Yorker like myself… I have a feeling I would stick out like a sore thumb!

    • May 23, 2012 10:16 am

      They’d eat you up! Northern New Englanders definitely live up to the reserved stereotype, but once you get them talking, they open up :) I grew up in northern NE, and it was still like pulling teeth to get a conversation going when I first started going to Ry’s parent’s! Maybe I’m just a talker. Southern Maine is mostly “other”, as in lots of transplants, especially in the summer. It’s so gorgeous, but so freaking expensive (real estate on the coast, that is).

      • May 23, 2012 10:18 am

        I meant they’d eat you up in a good way :) Not like how the black flies would eat you up.

  6. May 23, 2012 10:51 am

    Congratulations! That’s really exciting!

  7. May 23, 2012 5:40 pm

    aw congratulations, thats brilliant news – go you :D

  8. May 26, 2012 7:47 am

    How cool, congratulations! Are you going to share the pics with us? Unfortunately I won’t manage to make it to New England anytime soon… ;)

  9. May 28, 2012 5:20 pm

    Congratulations Lavender! Wish I lived closer so I could see all your pictures in person!

  10. May 29, 2012 1:47 pm

    Awesome! Congratulations!

  11. June 2, 2012 1:32 am

    Congratulations! I’d definitely love to see your pics that you’re showing when you can.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

