Skip to content

Sweet Confection

May 21, 2012

I imported these photos into wordpress before traveling to see my family for a long weekend, but there was simply too much going on to write a post. So, without further ado, here’s le Taffy. Yeah, there was a little saltwater involved in the making, concerning the serged rolled hem I wanted to use on the sleeves. But it all worked out in the end.

My photos aren’t the best, so please excuse the seat belt wrinkles. While searching for a video of Speeding Motorcycle, I discovered that Daniel Johnston was playing an upcoming show in a southern NH town. Holy crap! It was fan-freaking-tastic, and well worth the drive. The opera house was quite small, and we were able to sit front and center. Great, great evening. I haven’t had time to take proper photos in this since.

The muslin I made, in that ubiquitous black & white poly from the bolt that keeps on giving, has a divine serged rolled hem on both the sleeves and bodice. It’s slightly heavier than the chiffon I used for my final garment, which kept getting masticated like a big ol’ hunk of boardwalk candy. Very frustrating, because the same fabric, different color, was used for this blouse, and all was well in serger land. In fact, the SRH on that blouse is the best part of it. Ah, well. I employed some tactics that might have you raising an eyebrow. But I wanted a serged sleeve, and I wanted it now.

post-wear wrinkles, as i rushed to take some shots in order to write a post over the weekend

From the get-go, I used Sullivans spray stabilizer to stiffen the chiffon a bit. Sometimes I use the tissue paper method for cutting, but I’ve been loving the Sullivans of late. When my practice throws ended up as fails, a stroll down the internet boardwalk found me happy to lay my money down on a vendor hawking this ware. So what if it’s the equivalent cooking steak in the microwave, then smothering it with ketchup? This stuff worked. I cut it into small strips, carefully pressed in sections without distorting the sleeve, then serged away. (Practiced on scrap first. Duh.) The first rinse admittedly left the fabric a bit stiff, but after a hand wash in shampoo, ocean breezes were floating those crazy sleeves up, up, up.

My sister was gifted the muslin version. This is a straight 6, and for my final version I extended the darts an inch, used size 4 side seams, size 6 length, and took out an inch wedge along the neckline. It’s basically the same dart that Oona used in her final version, only I took it out of the pattern. What’s up with that huge neckline? I was hoping it would work on my sister, and it mostly did. She’s a little more well-endowed than I am, so the neckline isn’t as big of an issue.

Though my weekend trip wasn’t exactly a vacation to the shore, I did discover a cute addition to a town that needs some revitalization. One Stitch, Two Stitch is a lovely, organized and spacious quilting shop & sewing studio with friendly owners, high-quality fabric, and ginormous cutting tables. They were even running their first garment sewing night on Friday, but I wasn’t able to make it. A small selection of wool coating and silk/cotton blends was nestled amongst the bolts. If you ever find yourself in a small northern NH town, pop in.

I’ve made quite a bit of progress on my Spring/Summer sewing list, even with the Simplicity diversion. If I hadn’t needed to do some family stuff, my sewing schedule could have been rearranged so that the 1940s Siren sundress was completed for this week’s Sew Weekly challenge. But the family stuff really needed doing. And I really need to make some jeans before I make another dress. In a bad way.

 

25 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2012 1:05 pm

    Gorgeous. This pattern can look nice in the right fabric and you’ve nailed it.

    • May 22, 2012 11:19 am

      Thanks, Katy :) It’s a simple pattern & I think prints look great… but those sleeves are nuts. A statement on their own.

  2. misscrayolacreepy permalink
    May 21, 2012 1:45 pm

    I love how it turned out! And that wine color is so pretty. P.s. the neck on mine was super wide :(

    • May 22, 2012 11:15 am

      Thanks :) I swear, the style lines in all those book patterns are wacky. Maybe I’m becoming less tolerant and/or impatient!

  3. May 21, 2012 5:17 pm

    Oh, this is gorgeous on you!

  4. May 21, 2012 7:29 pm

    Yes, that is definitely a color for you!

    • May 22, 2012 11:18 am

      I’m just going to face it and embrace all shades of purple. Though this one is a little Barney, no? Maybe enough time has passed, and no one knows who that is these days.

      • May 22, 2012 11:23 am

        avoid green nail polish and I think you’ll be fine- didn’t Barney have green accents?

  5. May 21, 2012 7:53 pm

    I like it! Nice work.

  6. jmmcrowe@yahoo.com permalink
    May 21, 2012 10:10 pm

    Thanks again Boo for the new addition to my wardrobe. The fit is comfortable and will work well at the office. Btw, as I learned, be careful what you wish for as you may be blessed with these too when you have babies. You can make new clothes for me anytime.

  7. May 22, 2012 4:59 am

    Wet n’gone mwahahaha usually it’s the opposite. If Carl wasn’t super busy with some fiddly comp. stuff right now I’d show him that for a laugh. My suggestion for edging on fabric that doesn’t play well with overlockers: use a narrow hem (/rolled hem) pressure foot on your sewing machine. And it’s not just awesome for hems either, I use mine for finishing all seams-it’s neater and less of of pain than French seams. And that blouse is very pretty on you. I have that book but haven’t bothered making anything out of it ‘cuz it seems like everything needs a lot of fitting/ modification and I don’t want to spend the time on stuff that I don’t really see as ‘my style’..

    • May 22, 2012 11:09 am

      I’ll have to investigate a narrow hem foot for my machine, though I’m hesitant to buy any more attachments, as I’d like to upgrade. I can’t even control the pressure on my foot or raise/lower feed dogs :( I did snag an old screw on Singer rolled hem foot from my mom, and messed with that a bit, but wasn’t feeling it at the time. I’m a total French seam addict :)

      I’m kinda done with that book. Maybe I’ll come back to it, but right now, time to move on :)

  8. May 22, 2012 9:37 am

    The blouse turned out just beautiful! I know it was a pain in the rear – but I love the little lavender edge to the rolled hem. It was worth it! Truthfully, I love little tricks like that wet n gone stabilizer – seriously, whatever works!

    • May 22, 2012 11:13 am

      Thanks, Sallie :) Right! I’d smother the silk in elmer’s if it would get me what I wanted.

  9. Sherry permalink
    May 22, 2012 3:36 pm

    It looks lovely in this fabric, I just love the colour on you, it suits you so much!
    I usually do a rolled hem without a foot – I find it a lot easier, lol! If you want to give it a go rather than investing in a hem foot, there’s a tutorial hidden somewhere in my Ruby Slip sew-along that might help.

    • May 22, 2012 3:42 pm

      Yes! I’ve seen your tutorial, Sherry, and it’s bookmarked! You’re the best :) For some reason I just had it set in my mind that I really wanted the serged rolled hem on this blouse. I’ve had successes with them on flimsy fabric in the past, yet this time it was pulling… taffy?

  10. May 22, 2012 4:06 pm

    You saucy little minx you!! Your Taffy turned out brilliant and don’t you just look GORGEOUS in it!! I adore the colour and ethereal quality of that silk – so glad you finally got it to work for you, and who cares how you did it? You showed it who was boss and now you’re workin’ it something fierce ;) *hi fives*

  11. May 23, 2012 5:08 pm

    i love the soft drape and sheerness in such a deep colour, gorgeous, well done for sticking with it :-)

    • May 24, 2012 7:27 am

      I was surprised at how the color is still evident with one layer – a black or grey cami helps for sure, but it’s not too light with my skin behind it. A layered version would be cool :)

  12. May 26, 2012 6:18 am

    I love how floaty the sleeves look, and the colour is gorgeous on you. Good work!

  13. June 2, 2012 1:29 am

    Both of these are so pretty! I love floaty sleeves and wonder why I haven’t noticed this pattern before… hmmm… beautiful violet chiffon.

  14. June 6, 2012 11:42 am

    Very cute! I’ve been intrigued by this top and I might have to try it soon…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 107 other followers

