Skip to content

Me Made May 2012

May 1, 2012

 

I almost forgot to post my pledge, so here you have it:

I, Lavender of threadsquare, sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’12. I will wear one handmade/upcycled garment each day for the duration of May 2012.

While I realize that is not the loftiest of goals, it is still a challenge to me. My closet has many handmade garments at this stage, yet not enough to go a month without repeats. It is also important for me at this point to cull my closet of both handmade and RTW garments that are collecting dust, and have been for years. Buffalo Exchange and Goodwill each received a donation last week, while I endeavor to make my wardrobe cohesive, versatile and in line with my lifestyle. As part of the monthly goal, and my larger sewing plan for spring/summer (life, actually), I’ll be making progress on my palette challenge, which includes garments that fit my life. Of course, there is a dress thrown in there (and the two extras recently made). But I really need to focus on the jeans and tops.

One of my favorite exhibits permanently installed at the American Textile History Museum is this comparison between a girl’s closet from 1830 and 2008. It provides an instant visual representation of our current state of easy, cheap consumption.

I wouldn’t say I’ve been a huge clothes horse throughout my life, but I’ve definitely purchased more than is actually worn. And although I’m slowing down by making/upcycling my clothing, that process is still susceptible to quick makes that either won’t last, or won’t be worn. Not that quick is necessarily bad. A quickie serged tee that’s totally me and well-made is awesome! However, my recent afternoon spent sorting worn and unworn clothing and makes really drove it home that it is important to develop a personal style. Of course, there are experiments with learning, developing technique, etc. But, and I’m just thinking out loud here, I should try not to be so willy-nilly, sew-whatever-whimsy, in my approach. Hence the plan, and I thank my fellow planning bloggers who started me on that path :)

Speaking of quick makes that won’t be worn… I definitely don’t want Miss Taffy to fall into that category. Especially so because I really do love the iridescent chiffon I’ve chosen, and feel this is a breezy, casual-meets-classy summer top. While experimenting last night with fusing charcoal Vilene bias tape to the edge, then serging, I kept thinking “if only there were a wash away version of this”. The tape provided the perfect amount of stabilization for a nicely dense rolled hem. While I didn’t mind the visible narrow strip under the sheer fabric, I didn’t love it, either. Lo! What have we here? A fusible stabilizer that also washes away? Yes. Just the thing. Prior to my sleuthing, I’d known only of iron away (no, I want to iron on, thank you) or wash away that needed to be held in place with a hoop or stitches. My order is placed, and I’ll be working on my Jean-ius course and Renfrow in the meantime.

Time to go dance around a pole and try to catch a kiss. Happy May Day!

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2012 12:35 pm

    Hooray! Happy MMM! I’m really glad that you’re playing along.

    I have to agree with you re: working out a personal style. Most of my early makes are things that I thought were really cute, but that don’t really suit my lifestyle or personality. I’m trying to take the approach of making things that I need and will wear instead of just buying new patterns that I see and like. Trying to be more intentional, ya know? It’s so easy to get sidetracked when all of y’all make so many cute things that I see and just WANT!

  2. misscrayolacreepy permalink
    May 1, 2012 2:56 pm

    Wow, that comparison photo is very interesting. I am trying to buy less and make more, so hopefully my closet will have more quality clothes than cheap throw away clothes.

    Sarah at Rhinestones and Telephones is extending the deadline for the Taffy blouse, so you still have time! :)

  3. May 1, 2012 3:56 pm

    I absolutely LOVE that closet comparison! My minimalist and anal retentive OCD self much prefers the left one – LOL! Look how enticing that cappuccino-coloured silk is!

    I’m still in the learning phase so I know there are some things I’m making and will make which probably won’t get worn much, but I’m trying to be mindful of the colours and styles I like as I make them so at least SOME of them will make it to Closet Staple status :)

    • May 8, 2012 2:38 pm

      In my notes from that first visit, I had written the same thing – “I’ll take that silk dress any day!” I’m still learning, too. In fact, I always will be. I’m just trying to pare down my “must make that pattern now” and sew a little more thoughtfully. But it’s hard… so distracted :)

  4. May 1, 2012 4:07 pm

    I always looked forward to your SSS’11 photos, so I’m really glad you’ll be joining this May (no pressure, though!). I want to try out the Jean-ius class soon. Right after I perfect my Jalie 2908 pattern and trust that I know how to make jeans from a pattern.

    • May 8, 2012 2:36 pm

      “no pressure, though!” Oh boy, I’m not living up already. I’ve taken something like three photos. Blerg.

  5. May 2, 2012 7:36 pm

    Ooh, you’re doing the Jeanius class? I signed up for the couture dress course but I think I really need to knock off my jeans. Much, much more wear!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 107 other followers

