Skip to content

Fifteen minutes

March 28, 2012

If you’ve been on BurdaStyle this week, you may have recognized my mug

 

Hop on over to read about my bratty ways, forcing my dear Mom into total pattern redesign. But how could she say no to that sweet face in a bonnet? Mummy made that coat, by the way. I think adult me needs something similar, no?

Also, for the Leonard Cohen fans in the house: Yes. The song is Famous Blue Raincoat. Fully aware of my mistake. R and I have a little thing where we’ll morph song and film titles. Famous Blue Raincoat + Perfect Blue Buildings. We kill us. Obviously I didn’t check with my editor prior to submitting the questionnaire, as our mash-up stuck. In fact, any blog posts published with typos suffer from the same issue. But there are times when it’s impossible for said editor to do his job, because he’s doing his job. And so it is that a blog post I’ve drafted, edited, photo’d, linked, stared at for far too long, is published without a fresh set of eyes.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2012 4:10 pm

    Yay you! Congrats on the feature… as you know, I caught it earlier and was like ‘woo hoo!! I know that gal!’ LOL. Very well deserved :) Cheers! :)

  2. March 28, 2012 4:33 pm

    Fun! Congrats!

  3. March 29, 2012 8:53 am

    Congratulations! It was so fun reading about your sewing past!

    • March 29, 2012 7:10 pm

      What a storied past it is. Denial. Dalliances. Affairs. Stolen glances. Midnight trysts. Proposals. Vacations. Yokes. Honeymoons.

  4. March 29, 2012 12:57 pm

    Congrats! I loved your full-body form (do you use it?) and that Neko Case is a style icon. Oh, her hair kills me…

    • March 29, 2012 2:56 pm

      The form just kind of hangs out right now. It’s a store mannequin, totally not my size. Oona suggested I pad it out, which I might do in an ambitious moment. But really, I’m bratty and want a real form :) Ms. Case, it is! Love huh.

  5. March 29, 2012 4:07 pm

    I saw it and I got AMPED– I had a full-on “holy sh*t, I know her and she’s soooo famous!!!!!” moment! Then I saw your little squirt photos and freaked out, THEN I saw the Gram Parsons pic and freaked out MORE… so yeah. Thanks for adding so much happiness to my day! And mucho congratulations on the feature!!

    • March 29, 2012 7:13 pm

      “Little squirt” just made my day! Oh man, I almost lost it two summers ago when Wilco took the stage in full on Gram-style Nudie suits. I had this crazy, stoned grin on my face, high on life.

  6. March 31, 2012 12:08 pm

    Congratulations on your appearance on Burda Style. I thought I was the only one who sewed in silence. Not so!

    • April 2, 2012 8:42 am

      It’s very soothing, right? Oddly, I am a huge music lover. But if it becomes simply background noise, I tend to want it turned off.

  7. April 1, 2012 9:29 am

    Yay! Congrats! That was fun to read. I appreciate your secret sewing weapon tips. Also, I love your sewing area. I really need to get stuff (scissors!) off my floor and onto the wall. :)

    • April 2, 2012 8:43 am

      Ha! I feel like I don’t really have any secret weapons. Um… my seam ripper gets a lot of use :) Girl, you’re going to stab your feet!

  8. April 1, 2012 5:02 pm

    congrats on the feature! i didn’t know you had lived in austin. sorry i missed you! and it’s nice to see other “Breathless” and old french movie lovers out there ;)

    • April 2, 2012 8:45 am

      Thanks, Dixie! I can’t believe we’ve been away for so long! Trying to remedy that :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

