Skip to content

Dirty Chartreuse Chanteuse

March 6, 2012

Last Thursday, my latest dress made it to the feature spot on the Sew Weekly. Once again, I was truly surprised and flattered! The theme was refashion/upcycling. I almost sat it out, but then decided to tackle this sad silk dress that had been given to me by a coworker a couple of years ago. I finally used Simplicity 2724, and it was a dream of a pattern, barely requiring any adjustment. It marks the final garment in my fall/winter sewing palette. On to spring/summer!

Hop on over to the post to see the before and after. It features my favorite upcycling trick for bias binding – neckties! I’ve mentioned this in the past, but new readers may have missed it :)

I was going to do a wrap up post of all of my fall/winter finished garments. However, I opted to add the popular Tag Cloud feature at the right. I don’t love the way it looks, but it makes my life easier.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2012 2:17 pm

    That dress is a-mazing! Of course it made you a cover star! xx

  2. March 6, 2012 2:35 pm

    Beautiful refashion, really like the neckline! A couple things, first I LOVE the necktie use, I’ve never seen that before, and never would have thought of it-genius.
    Two, I’m an August gal myself, and most people hate our birthstone, but I adore it (doesn’t hurt green is my favorite color). Glad to see it getting some love :)

  3. March 6, 2012 6:35 pm

    Lovely refashion! You look great in that dress.

  4. March 6, 2012 6:47 pm

    I love this refashion! Really inspiring and congrats on the feature:)

  5. March 7, 2012 7:50 pm

    I love the dress, (I have that pattern!) love the name (I can hear Quentin Tarantino saying ‘chartruese” like he does in Death Proof), and I looooove the photos. I don’t know if you used a filter, or just got some cool aquarium-like light or what. Love those photos!

    • March 8, 2012 9:58 am

      Yes! Death Proof! I used a filter effect in Lightroom :) Though it would be really fun to live in that light for a day or two.

  6. March 8, 2012 7:43 pm

    Nice! Congratulations on the feature. I’ve signed up to sew weekly and have been sewing along but haven’t had the time to photograph any of the things I’ve made (except one).. XP

    • March 13, 2012 10:27 am

      It’s hard to keep up! But just the fact that you’re sewing along is fantastic!

  7. March 10, 2012 7:44 pm

    Absolutely gorgeous, lady! You’ve gone and knocked it out of the park again!

  8. March 12, 2012 8:16 pm

    Wow, that is a huge refashion! I love the new neckline, how cool.

  9. March 13, 2012 2:01 pm

    Lovely work, fellow August!! :) I’ve always felt estranged from our birthstone colour; it doesn’t really suit me, but you’re rockin’ it enough for both of us put together! :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 107 other followers

