Skip to content

Coo-coo-ca-choo Nutmeg

February 23, 2012

If you missed me in most of my glory over at the Sew Weekly…

This week’s theme was Academy Awards. That is, use any nominated film ever for inspiration, and stitch up a little somethin’ somethin’. I took mine from everyone’s favorite cougar, Mrs. Robinson in The Graduate. There’s more detail over on the Sew Weekly, but in short, I’d found this amazing silk leopard print dress at Goodwill. And, I wanted to sew up the Nutmeg pattern as practice for lingerie sewing (waiting on the Pin-Up Girl bra pattern to arrive). Well, the Nutmeg uses bias cuts, which weren’t going to work out for cutting up the dress. So I found this poly charmeuse as a substitute. It’s not quite as classy as the silk, but when you’re down to this, is class an issue?

I am reading Harper’s. That’s classy, right?

I practically spit water all over my screen when I logged on to see this. GAH!!! Not only did I not expect the feature, but I’d envisioned the crop of the leg shot to be the first photo in the post. (If you don’t know the rules, to be considered for a feature, at least one photo has to be 500 x 340 dpi. To make life simpler, if I like the proportions of that size on other images, I’ll crop them all the same. That Mena is a tricksie thing! Haha!)

Excuse me while I go cut out a dress. And a blouse. And a jacket. :)

33 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2012 9:57 am

    Sassy lady!

  2. February 23, 2012 10:26 am

    That’s awesome Lavender!!!! Nice job!!!
    You look great in your skivvies!!!

  3. G.Petunia permalink
    February 23, 2012 10:42 am

    Nice! You can find real treasure at Goodwill but you have to kiss a lot of frogs before you find a prince, so to speak.

    • February 24, 2012 1:13 pm

      Maybe I’ll eat my words, but I always have good luck :) I might use the silk leopard print for a lining.

  4. February 23, 2012 10:48 am

    You look totally hot! Well done.

  5. February 23, 2012 12:40 pm

    You are a sewing fanatic, you’re always making something awesome! And I LOVE leopard !

  6. February 23, 2012 1:49 pm

    Don’t even get me started on talking lingerie, I’m so much having fun sewing it. I could never bring myself in a million years to model it, though! Leopard is awesome, period.

    • February 24, 2012 1:17 pm

      You’re the Queen of Lingerie, hands down. My bra pattern finally shipped, over a week after ordering, and after promised. Whatevs. I will NOT be modeling that. Not online, anyway ;)

  7. February 23, 2012 2:20 pm

    You’re so awesome, Lavender! Congratulations on the feature!

    • February 24, 2012 1:18 pm

      Maybe now I can go ahead and do those croquis?! Cuz this was slightly scary.

  8. February 23, 2012 2:25 pm

    Lavender, I had to scan the post to see who this was and what she was doing. I thought you had gotten a job in Hollywood! :-)

  9. February 23, 2012 2:38 pm

    soooo pretty! oh my. i love the leopard.

  10. February 23, 2012 3:16 pm

    Saucy lady!! LOVE the leopard print.

    • February 24, 2012 1:23 pm

      Ooh, you’re another that has leopard print written all over. I can tell ;)

  11. February 23, 2012 4:43 pm

    YOWZA!! That first picture is so great!! But oh my god I love your little leopard boudoir set! I think I might have to get myself some lingerie patterns – I’ve been so inspired by all the bra and panty making I’ve been oogling on the internet!

    • February 24, 2012 1:24 pm

      Danke! It’s all over the place, right?! I’m totally loving it, and think I’ll even make my man some underthings. Hehe!

  12. February 24, 2012 2:22 pm

    Evil wordpress was not letting me comment yesterday- I love this and I love the photo story! Too frisky!

    • February 26, 2012 8:56 pm

      Oh, I am so glad you approve. Because you are the Jungle Mother. We all know it. Meow :)

  13. February 24, 2012 3:13 pm

    hahaha i’d say your face was a picture when you saw the sew weekly front page :-)
    you have nothing to worry about, Ryan definitely got your “good” angles!!! great warm up for lingerie sewing and kudos on another great job!

    • February 26, 2012 8:58 pm

      I think I turned 10 different colors! Glad to know that I’ve trained him well ;) Now off to pretend it’s 110 degrees and I lounge around the house like this…

  14. February 25, 2012 2:40 pm

    Wow! Congrats on the feature! The ensemble looks very sexy and I love the pictures!

    • February 26, 2012 9:00 pm

      Thanks, Alessa! My pooch totally thought laying on the bed meant snuggle/petting time. She’s such a camera hog.

  15. February 26, 2012 8:57 pm

    WOW!!!

  16. February 27, 2012 2:40 pm

    Congrats on the feature, love the ensemble!! :)

    I have awarded you the Liebster Blog Award, check it out here!: http://symondezyn.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=157&action=edit&message=6&postpost=v2

  17. February 27, 2012 9:03 pm

    Love this! You saucy vixen!:)

Trackbacks

  1. Costume Party: The Artist | Ginger Makes…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 107 other followers

