Skip to content

Natty Netty Jasmine (and Meringue, too)

January 13, 2012

Hey hey! Guess whose post made it to the Sew Weekly yesterday? I didn’t even realize it until now. Hop on over and read about the saga of the photo shoot.

See that lamp precariously perched on my sewing table? This shot was right before it crashed to the floor. You’d think I’d have a pro set up by now. My landlady was a dream for taking the rest of the shots. And you know what? The post wasn’t even due until Monday night. The entire time I was thinking the deadline was Sunday. Derf.

Broken glass aside, I’m pretty pleased with the way this turned out. I went down to a size 4, and it fit like a dream except for the arm bands. I’ve since replaced them with a size 6 and left out the organza interfacing. Much nicer. I can move my arms without restriction, and the sleeves fall back into place when my arms rest at my sides again. The eagle-eyed among you will recognize the fabric. Yeah, yeah, it’s polyester. But there’s some serious stash-bustin’ going on here, and I love the print. It won’t be the last you see of this. I’ll still wear the muslin, though it is a bit baggy for my liking. Sarcasm in the muslin post aside, I do have a fondness for the idea of wearing it at R’s grandparents’ house. An homage of sorts, as that’s where the sheet came from.

Those same eagle-eyed folks will also notice an un-blogged Meringue skirt. I finished this up last weekend, but the only photos I had of it were going to be used for the Sew Weekly post. I made mine in a size 8, with a smidge taken off the side seams. Not keen on faced skirts, I used the tutorial for a waistband version instead. I like my skirts to feel like they’re going to stay in place, and the faced variety always seem to slide around. Well, the waistband is so narrow, and the skirt still sits below the natural waist, so that ended up being a bit of a time suck. The fact that I installed the zipper THEN remembered I was using a waistband didn’t help, either. Thus, the band doesn’t match up perfectly at the zip. For once, I can live with that.

I’ve become so accustomed to skirts (re: pencil) sitting on my natural waist, that at first I was on the fence about this. It doesn’t slip & slide around, so have since decided it’s fine. I used a black cotton twill in my stash. Boy, talk about being off-grain! No amount of thread pulling and diagonal tugging would remedy that. So, I ended up cutting less economically than usual. Better to have scrap than a scrapped skirt. Without a dark lining in sight, I found a bottle of black Rit dye in the closet for the silk habotai. I stitched the lining together, hemmed it and pinked the zipper placket prior to dyeing. Of course, I simply used the white thread in my machine, forgetting the polyester wouldn’t take the dye. Whoopsy!

The silk didn’t turn out a true black, but much better than lining a black skirt in white silk. The scallop facings are quilting cotton from my fall palette challenge. And hells no… I didn’t bother with the whole make a template thing for the stitch line. I just measured & marked, trimmed & turned. And now I have a basic black skirt, something I’ve needed for a while.

Fabric: cotton twill, $5?; silk habotai, $3; cotton facing, $1 (guesses, as all from stash)

Pattern: Meringue by Colette, $5.6 if the book price is divided by the 5 patterns enclosed

Notions: thread, fusible woven interfacing, invisible zip, Rit dye; all from stash

Time to complete: I should really start keeping track

20 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2012 4:46 pm

    Great outfit. I would have been a sucker for that poly print at the right price too. There is a lot of polyester in my stash. I have to say the scalloped hem is really nice in the otherwise plain black skirt. It adds a little nice detail.

    • January 13, 2012 5:29 pm

      Honestly, I’d be tempted to buy it today, despite my now-snobbish ways. Ha! I love a little secret bit of color :)

  2. January 13, 2012 5:07 pm

    love that first picture of you
    (and I’ve been noticing lately your hair has gotten so long, its nice!)
    good job on the jasmine, and on the stashbustin
    oh and the lining came out brilliant even if it was unintentional – whats habotai like to work with?

    • January 13, 2012 5:27 pm

      Trying hard to grow it :) I kinda like it this length, so maybe it will stay here a while? I LOVE habotai! After using up that acetate scrap for the lining in my last pencil skirt, I was reminded how much better habotai is. Yeah, it’s slippery. But the acetate/poly/whatever is worse, ravels more, and is noisy. Started using Sullivan’s spray stabilizer a little while ago, and it helps a ton as far as slippage goes. Go get you some!

  3. eunnyjang permalink
    January 13, 2012 5:11 pm

    oh, this is gorgeous – the skirt, the top, the whole thing. and your sewing space is so cheerful looking, love all those threads on the rack. Pretty!

    • January 13, 2012 5:30 pm

      Thanks Eunny :) I wish the space were bigger, but it works!

  4. January 13, 2012 5:27 pm

    Really, really cute! Great job!

    • January 13, 2012 5:28 pm

      Oh, forgot to mention that the skirt looks good sitting a bit lower than your natural waist– shows off a bit more of the lovely blouse!

      • January 15, 2012 6:26 pm

        Thanks :) I wear my jeans this low, but it feels odd with a skirt. Maybe because rtw skirts this low always rode up because of my massive hips?

  5. January 13, 2012 5:42 pm

    wow…. your Meringue is amazing!! the lining… the waistband, dying your own silk lining… i’m in total awe! :) I can only say I truly admire your attention to detail – your work is what I aspire towards in mine (though I’ve a long way to go! LOL)

    I have to say, having made mine with the waistband facing, I would agree it does slip around a lot, so the idea of making it with a waistband was indeed clever :)

    • January 15, 2012 6:22 pm

      You’re too much! Thanks for the info about the faced version. Despite my waistband turning out really narrow, maybe it does help a bit in the slippage department? Thought I was the only one with that issue :)

  6. January 13, 2012 6:00 pm

    I love that you used a fun fabric for the facings. The whole look is adorable. I admire how hard you work!!

    • January 15, 2012 6:28 pm

      Gotta get some fun in there somewhere! If only I could work fast, too…

  7. January 14, 2012 11:42 am

    Beautiful! Great combination of fabric and pattern on the Jasmine, and I admire your take-no-prisoners stashbustin’ too! I admit I have been avoiding the poly/acetate/etc at the bottom of the tubs but it does way on the conscience! Adore the contrast facing on the Meringue too- and what a great way to un-boring a basic black skirt.

    • January 15, 2012 6:30 pm

      Free your mind! Embrace the stash! Well, there are a few items I simply can’t bring myself to use, but the rest… I own you.

  8. January 15, 2012 2:18 pm

    Oh, the Meringue looks so pretty with the scallops, and it’s so versatile in black! It looks lovely with the Jasmine!

    • January 15, 2012 6:34 pm

      Thanks, Alessa :) It’s soo basic, but I’ll take cue from you and say versatile! I’m turning into Miss Colette these days…hehe!

  9. January 16, 2012 10:06 pm

    So- just the other day I was balancing precariously on my chair in my office taking a picture of a little something I had finished sewing.. and the chair slipped right out from under me!! I was okay luckily- just a few bruises!

  10. January 17, 2012 1:14 pm

    gah! that outfit is fantastic and you look amazing.

    way to use up stash fabric, too. i don’t think polyester is all bad. when i browse on anthro and nordy’s websites to get ideas i always see outrageously priced polyester pieces.

    i love your sewing area! your pink chair is super cute.

    • January 19, 2012 8:26 am

      :* That really gets me, those Anthro clothes, all poly and overpriced! I stood in a store once sketching a jacket (embarrassing my friends)! IKEA chair! Prolly made for kiddos, but I’m a big kid.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 110 other followers

