Skip to content

Love comes wrapped in a bubble mailer

December 8, 2011

Within a week’s time, I have received not one, but two TWO surprise gifts in the post. Not surprise as in, “I’m pre-approved for whatever it is I don’t need”… I’m talking real life “oooh, it’s not a bill/junkmail/takeout menu!!!” kind of surprise.

c. Boni Ashburn and Julia Denos

First up is this lovely little book. You might call it a children’s book, but I don’t have any bebes. Okay, every once in a while I may whine a smidge. My friend saw it in her local library branch and thought of yours truly. Isn’t it adorable? Snip snip, sew sew! It’s not only about sewing, it’s about upcycling, with a dose of making molehills out of mountains and adjusting to change. I am so smitten with the illustrations, and come to find out the artist, Julia Denos, is local! I immediately went to her site to see more work, and get permission for image use, of course. Little ones or no, this is the most darling storybook for a seamster’s shelf. I might even get an illustration for my wall, right near my machine.

My mate recommends this one titled Audrey, as it reminds her of my beach hat :)

c. Julia Denos

I’m also pretty partial to the Little Dresses print.

c. Julia Denos

This was last week. Then, just yesterday, I found this little number waiting for me:

Can you believe it? A Dritz bound buttonhole maker. The coveted sort that people snap up on ebay at first sighting. Many months ago, when I first caught wind of this handy tool, I asked my mum if she had one in her stash that I might be able to maybe borrow keep pretty please. She didn’t. However, industrious little thing she is, she posted it to her quilt guild. And eventually got a hit. To top it all off, the dear sweet woman, whom I’ve never met, simply sent it to me. I wanted to buy it. She refused, in the manner dear sweet women refuse.

At this point, I’m feeling slightly spoiled lucky. Real thanks are in order. Of the paper and handwritten variety. SWAK. With a little something special thrown in, wouldn’t you say?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2011 12:00 am

    I LOVE THAT BOOK! i mean, i’ve never read it, as the caps would indicate, but i love it. it reminds me of 1,000 dresses.

  2. lazystitcher permalink
    December 9, 2011 6:09 am

    I just adore that print!

  3. December 9, 2011 10:24 am

    I must have that book! Love it!

  4. December 9, 2011 11:19 am

    Oh how adorable! That print would look so nice in my sewing room. Hmm, perhaps hints need to be made in my husbands direction. A bit late for Christmas, but he’s better at following through on this stuff than I am.
    There is something extra special receiving things that aren’t junk or bills by snail mail.

  5. December 9, 2011 11:29 am

    How cool is all this! When do we get a buton holer tutorial?

  6. December 9, 2011 1:00 pm

    :) Lucky you! The book looks very sweet and how nice of that lady!

  7. December 9, 2011 8:11 pm

    Love the book with it’s little sweet pictures! The Audrey is spot on. A bound buttonhole maker? I didn’t know that such an animal existed!!! So fun to find surprises in the mail like that! By the way I watched all 7 episodes of Downton Abby… all in one day while sewing… I am hooked now and can’t wait for the new episodes to come out! Thanks for your post!

  8. December 10, 2011 7:05 pm

    What beautiful illustrations! Thanks for sharing this!

  9. December 11, 2011 12:59 pm

    Oh, what wonderful artwork! Lovely!! Great friends, great surprises!

  10. December 12, 2011 5:48 pm

    @oona – you will love this, I just know it! Now I have to look up 1,000 dresses :)

    @lazystitcher, daughterfish & seraphinalina – yes! Hints dropped, winks made, buy it yourself and make your significant other sign the card!

    @prttynpnk – uh oh! eek… I’m sleuthing around for a tutorial myself, as it came with no instructions. I think I saw one on Colette a while back

    @tracey – I’m such a pusher… ha! You can just breeze right through, right!

    @gingermakes & atelierfargo – Oooh, I hope y’all support Julia. I am just so smitten with her work :)

  11. December 13, 2011 11:12 am

    How fun–that’s a friend who is tuned into you. What great illustrations! I have a love affair with illustrators and sometimes go on children’s book binges.

  12. February 26, 2013 11:44 pm

    I’m with you…..this is one of the best wee gadgets in our arsenal. I’ve had mine kept in it’s special place for over 20 years. I would like to fashion a really big one to make double welt pockets.
    Deb and Les

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

