Skip to content

Pattern Review turns 10

November 20, 2011

Last night I went out to the ‘burbs for the Pattern Review party, which celebrated their first ten years. I must practice full disclosure here: I’ve only been a member of the site since June, haven’t written a single pattern review or other content, and only when the newsletter showed up in my inbox did I realize they’re local. BUT I have known about the site for a while now. PR is where uncovered a source for the elusive Vilene/Pellon bias tape oft-mentioned in BWOF mags.

Everyone was so incredibly nice, of course. I really think seamsters are the nicest people. Ever. I met Jennifer Stern, an independent pattern maker from Connecticut, Anna from upstate NY, and many other members of the site. Of course, Deepika herself was there as gracious host, emcee and judge for the impromptu fashion show. At least, it was news to me. Check out the winner, Carol, in her beautiful shift dress and matching hand-embroidered shawl. Oh, and that’s her hand made coat, too. Italian wool and silk lining, super-fun buttons… I was in love.

While I was chatting away, they announced that there was actually a tie during the fashion show, yours truly being the second winner. What did I tell you about seamsters being the nicest people? My prize was the Pattern Review book that was recently published, signed by Deepika. I’ve been flipping through it already, and it is chock-full of useful information!

wrapped in pattern tissue :)

This square from the collaborative quilt on the office wall made me chuckle. Yup, those Clover trousers are still waiting on me. In the meantime, it’s been great to meet some local sewists. These women were rattling off pattern numbers like sports fans talk stats. I’ve been sewing the indy patterns with human/noun names recently, so this was crazy-impressive to me. I’ll try to get more active over there and write a review or two in the near future.

Deepika is so lovely!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2011 10:27 pm

    Sounds like a wonderful time…I love the PR community and spend far too much time online there :-)

  2. November 21, 2011 10:06 am

    Congratulations on coming in on second! And you didn’t even know that you were being judged in a competition? How fun! And you are right- sewists are the nicest people in the world!
    Have a great day!
    xo

  3. November 21, 2011 2:33 pm

    So nice to meet you Lavender. I am in so in love with your blouse! Nice write up of the party.

    • November 23, 2011 3:43 pm

      I had a great time, and was so happy to have met you & everyone…thanks for such a fantastic resource!

  4. Mommie permalink
    November 21, 2011 4:46 pm

    These sewers sound like a great bunch of folks ……and I haven’t even met them. Although I have sort of transitioned to quilting,a person who loves to create or recreate fabric into something beautiful can’t be anything but wonderful. WOW !!!!!!!!!! Congratulations to for your win. Keep on keeping. ^j^ ;) Love ya

  5. November 22, 2011 3:52 pm

    Sounds like you had a great time! Congrats on second place!
    And I love the quilt… :)

    • November 23, 2011 3:42 pm

      Thanks, Alessa :) The quilt was so cute… I think it was made a few years ago by members of the site?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

