Skip to content

Sneak peek revealed, and new sneak peek

August 19, 2011

San Clemente

Hi there lovelies.  Remember way back in March, when I teased you with three swatches of fabric?  What’s that?  You don’t recall?  Well, let me refresh your memory.  One of those swatches became my new favorite, and the other two I never got around to sharing with you.

They were two sweet dresses and one sun hat that I stitched up for my friends’ children.  This pattern from Favorite Things (hmm… looks discontinued) has come in handy, as I made Sarah’s oldest daughter a version when she was about a year old, and another friend’s daughter a birthday numero dos dress.

At Mission San Juan Capistrano

Despite the fact that kiddos grow like weeds and put their clothes through the ringer, I still get a lot of satisfaction sewing these little dresses.  And though they may not recognize the finer points of red contrast topstitching and a gathered ruffle, kids are perceptive.  Maybe, just maybe, I’m planting the sewing seed ;)  I still recall some of the outfits my mum made me, in particular a pair of corduroy knickers that would have made any little boy look dapper.  I couldn’t were them often enough.  I snagged quite a few vintage patterns from her recently, some children’s… I need to see if my knickers are in there!

The cuteness!

Who knows why I ever purchased this novelty denim.  Look at it!  It has silver rubber polka dots.  Did you ever paint your keds with puff paint?  That’s what this is like.  And I bought yards of it.  Yards.  But it works for a little tyke, and I paired it with red to give the ensemble a little cowgirl feel.  Yeehaw!

Koi at Mission San Juan Capistrano

Can you tell I love koi fish?

For the wee one, I actually upcycled a thrifted H&M dress that I picked up for the fabric.  Hoping Sarah wouldn’t mind, but also a teensy bit confident she gets, if not agrees with, my re-use sensibility.  But who would know, anyway?  Isn’t the white piping making the whole thing cute & preppy?  I met babycakes for the first time when I gave this to her, and I think it will match her burgeoning personality just fine.  Though it’s still too large.  In fact, besties mind meld:  Sarah texted me today with a photo of her oldest wearing it as a blouse.  So cute!!!

Hot mama :)

Mind meld, mind melt.  I’m off on holiday first thing in the morning.  So I’ll leave you with these previews of my latest three, completed!, garments.  I’ve had visions of a beachy photoshoot for two weeks, and have barely been able to contain my glee.

Let’s hope there are no scenes like this, telling of disaster an ocean away.  I’ll see y’all in a week :D

Laguna Beach, closed due to the Japanese hurricane and tsunami that had just struck. My heart still goes out to all those affected.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    August 19, 2011 10:22 pm

    Since you have yards and yards of that denim with the silver rubber ninnies, just thought I’d put it out there that it would make fantastic non-skid soles for baby booties/shoes. I’m singing “Diamonds on the Soles of Her Shoes”… Just sayin’.

    • threadsquare permalink*
      August 20, 2011 4:48 am

      You’re a genius!!! Now I need to hear that song! It’s as though I saw shiny and said “I want to go to there!” None of my friends had bebes when I bought it… was I really going to sew myself up a denim puff paint outfit?

  2. Sarah permalink
    August 20, 2011 4:01 pm

    Oh! Or a matching hairband to go with the dress!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 107 other followers

