Skip to content

Getting ahead of myself

April 13, 2010

“….There’s music on Clinton Street all through the evening…”

Well, I still need to post the little slip I made to wear under my jaunty French-inspired day dress. And, really, I should make the Alexander blouse, for which I specifically splurged on some red & white polka dot chiffon. I mean, I had my eye on it for a while, so the blouse was just an excuse to buy, really. Really. Oh, and never mind the older projects I’ve finished (and wear), but need to post up on BurdaStyle, let alone the jeans that only need a waistband sewn on and a hem. Frankly, they probably don’t fit any longer, as I started them a couple/three years ago. Ouch :)

But I can’t help getting ahead of myself. Especially when cooped up in an office all day, whilst out the window everything is becoming lush and green and pink. My mind has been in the trenches for, well, forever….just ask my friends! But in all fashion-seriousness, I have always wanted a trench coat, and came pretty close to buying one last year. I’m glad I didn’t. Because now I’m confident enough to sew my own. And it will be the most famous blue raincoat. Just you wait. Why think about it now, you ask, when everything is becoming lush and green? Well, I know me. And I know that it will be done by autumn if I begin now.

I also have many more things to work on between then and now. And this dress looks so hot on Ms. Sunni, that I just had to get the pattern. I can’t decide which combo of bodice & skirt to make first? Suggestions? Sleeveless w/ruffles & straight skirt, or sleeveless gathered scoop neck & straight skirt? Hmmmm….

As for the trench…j’adore collar C, but will that be too much if I add one of those trenchy breast flaps over the right side? And I go back & forth between the bell sleeve and the more traditional. I’m not super into cutesy & flouncy, so might stick with the straight cuff. Double-breasted is nice, and very classic, but I feel like all my jackets/coats are double-breasted, so might not go that route. Decisions, decisions.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2010 10:11 pm

    Oh I would love to see the scoop neck straight skirt tried on Simplicity 2724. You’ll be a smash in that! And that trench! I die for the double breasted look, second from the left on top. Sheesh, too gorgeous! Can not wait to see what you come up with!

  2. Erin permalink
    March 28, 2012 4:45 pm

    . . . your famous blue raincoat was torn at the shoulder. . . love it!

Trackbacks

  1. Fifteen minutes « threadsquare
  2. Stitching Spotlights » A Fashionable Stitch

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 107 other followers

