Skip to content

Printemps & Jonquilles

April 10, 2010

My February project, photographed at the end of March. I actually started this dress a couple of years ago (gasp!), but really wanted to finish it before moving on to bigger & better things. I had it entirely cut out and partially sewn up when I a) got engaged and focused on the total DIY wedding, and b) became frustrated with puckering seams. Now that I’ve had more practice with sheer & flimsy fabrics, I was able to tackle unpicking everything and putting it back together.

I knew I’d need a slip, and my lovely vintage full slip is just a tad too long at the hem, and the bust peeks out too much above the collar. (Do women not wear slips any longer? I love them so much better than all that Spanx junk, and they feel so sexy!) So the night before these photos were taken, I found the Bambi pattern on BurdaStyle & whipped it up the next morning (separate post to come) from left over bridal gown charmeuse. I lengthened the chemise to what I thought would be an appropriate slip length, but after seeing the photos, I realize I’m going to have to make another, even longer version. Looks like a total faux pas doesn’t it? All that difference between the slip and the dress. Eek! Tim Gunn would hold his hand to his chin and knit his eyebrows with concern.

What else would I do differently? Not wait so long to finish! I’d also use a light sew-in interfacing. When I started this dress, I was still using fusible interfacing, and the collar and armbands are a bit too stiff for my liking. I do have more fabric, so could have re-cut the pieces, but simply wanted to finish. Oh, and I wouldn’t lose the neck facing piece, whip one up on the fly, then find it upon clean-up! Overall, I’m pretty happy to be finally be able to wear this.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    April 13, 2010 5:22 pm

    Love the dress. Love the Mushka. Love you!

  2. Sheila Devereaux permalink
    April 14, 2010 8:22 am

    Sarah totally beat me to the punch! The matched glances–adorable. Like Mama, like daughter!

  3. January 12, 2012 8:18 pm

    This dress looks very elegant on you. Great work.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

